We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three for three”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Three for three”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our New In Town Club f (Women) rom Simi Valley stayed at the Pavilion for the third Oct in 3 years. We keep coming back. We love it. The good service starts at the dock, where they tag our luggage and we don't see it again until we are in our rooms. That way we just walk down Crescent Ave and have our lunch, shop etc until they're ready. Wonderful Happy Hour 4:30 to 5:30, and great Continental Breakfast. There were 23 of us. "Ladies night out." We stay for two nights. They will take your luggage to the holding area at the pier for you when you leave as well.
Great linens, comfortable beds. Recommend you take the 4 1/2 hr hummer tour if you haven't.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungSeniorCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued visits to the Pavilion Hotel! We love having you back each year and are looking forward to the next. My team and I appreciate your kind words. They will be happy to hear that you enjoyed their great service.

Again, we are looking forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    247
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
299
494
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 2 nites at the Pavillon from Sept 15th thru the 17th. So 2 nites, 3 days. I say 3 days b/c even after we checked out the hotel held our luggage and let us use the courtyard with lounge chairs, bathrms, showers and go to Happy Hour before taking the ship back to Dana Point.!!
We had a downstairs room with a small patio and chairs and then the gorgeous courtyard, I def was on a tropical island. The beach is yards away across the walkway everything you need is literally within walking distance. The continental breakfast was fantastic with many selections, Happy Hour was excellent w/wine, cheese, bread and delish honey.!! Gas fire pits on at nite where you can sit, relax and be quiet or meet new people to chat up with. The rooms are good, but like another writer said the walls r thin and you can hear the other people, that is my only complaint and I had to really think about something that bothered me. At nite they bring you fresh bottled water and chocolate......seriously what more could you want in a hotel...!! They were there for our every whim and I thank them for this wonderful experience. Will definitely be back.!!! Oh I have a bad back and the mattresses were very comfortable.!!

Room Tip: The first floor rms are more money but have a nice private patio, and a really short walk like 10 fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Catalina Island. We appreciate you staying with us and commenting on TripAdvisor. My team will be very happy to read your excellent review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our fire rings, breakfast, and wine and cheese hour. We hope that when you return to Avalon that you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would give this hotel a 4 & 1/2 if that was possible. We stayed here on a recent trip because the family members we were vacationing with had been before, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is first-rate, and so are the amenities. There is a very good breakfast served, and a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon that add a great deal of value to the stay. They also have turn-down service where they leave you chocolates AND bottled waters. The outdoor common areas are outstanding; tables and chairs overlooking the dock and the main street (pedestrian only--great people-watching), a fire pit, and numerous chaise lounges. When we left, they were planting more landscaping to add to the already beautiful central area.
Our relatives (the same ones who wouldn't stay elsewhere) were unhappy with the room they were assigned, and the hotel wasn't able to change it for them. To keep the peace, we switched rooms with them. The hotel MORE than made it worth our while with some extras, over and above what we anticipated.
The only negative I would mention is that there were lots of yellow jackets harassing people at some of the tables outdoors when food was present. I don't know if this was a seasonal happening, but it was a nuisance. (Had to make sure I carried my epi-pen when we were in the vicinity!)

Room Tip: There are different price points for various locations. A room opening to the open courtyard would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in Jan 2013 and were not impressed. Our first room was right next to the janitor's closet and was very noisy with house keepers constantly coming and going. They moved us to a room on the bottom floor and it sounded like a heard of elephants above us. We didn't sleep well from the noise and concluded that the rooms just had paper thin walls. The hotel sent us a one night free voucher but when I asked if I could give it to someone else they did not respond. Bad customer service all round.

Room Tip: Only stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OZPrincess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us in January. While I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience, I would like to extend my apologies for your experience with us again. We pride ourselves on having fantastic customer service and are sorry that we fell short.
I hope that we have the chance to restore your confidence in the Pavilion Hotel on your next visit to Catalina.

Thank you,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very short walk from pier and quick check-in with clean room and comfortable king beds. Saw where others have found beds uncomfortable, but with my bad back, no problem. The "Continental" breakfast was so much more than that, with the freshest fruit (incl luscious mangoes), delicious bagels, ham, oatmeal, pastries, coffee, tea, juice, etc., etc. And the 4:30 PM wine/cheese hour also a nice perk after a day of seeing the island. Staff helpful, polite and friendly. Although more expensive than larger hotels in larger mainland cities, Avalon is a product of supply and demand. I can not imagine only visiting Catalina for one day. The 3 nights we were there were just barely a nice getaway. Will plan for more next year during jazz fest.

Room Tip: First floor rooms face large, quiet courtyard. Since Avalon closes down around 8 PM, I was amazed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maigheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I will only stay here on Catalina. As soon as we stepped onto the island arriving from the Catalina Flyer,were two gentlemen holding a sign from the Pavilion Hotel to help us with luggage.
We were able to walk to the hotel without the stress of heavy luggage. When we checked in a little later in the day, they delivered our luggage to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. The gardens in the hotel were a peaceful retreat. The wine and cheese hour was a perfect getaway from the kids. The breakfast in the morning was a great selection even for picky kid eaters. Before we returned home The hotel even held our luggage until our return trip on the Catalina Flyer. Even after a visit to Descanso Beach Club that final day, the Hotel allowed us to use the bathroom area off the lobby to clean up since we had already checked out earlier that morning. I felt like Royalty, the staff was truly professional and amazing.

Room Tip: Upstairs Descanso Villa has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Avalon and for your rave review. My team and I were happy to help make your vacation memorable and glad that you had such a great time.

We appreciate your feedback on our gardens, rooms, and breakfast! We hope that next time you visit Catalina that you will come see us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland Ca
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was awesome.. We came for a family holiday and truly enjoyed this hotel. We will be back. It's close to the ferry and right on the main street. Nothing is very far way. We enjoyed the Continental Breakfast in the morning and the Wine and Cheese in the evening.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, would suggest if you bring kids to try and get a room on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family vacation. We were happy to make your stay at the Pavilion Hotel memorable. My team will be very glad to hear that they made your stay easy and memorable.

We hope that next time you are visiting Catalina that you choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing