We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pavilion Lodge”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
“Loved the Pavilion Lodge”
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I traveled to this hotel with 2 other families and we had an amazing experiance. Rooms were clean and fresh. Free DVD rentals for the rooms. Outside courtyard was perfect for little ones to run and play and for parents to sit back and relax. Office staff were very friendly, Perfect location for going to the beach or the pier since it's across from the hotel. Such a help to have towels from the hotel for the beach and the hotel showers and bathroom were so great after the beach and after checkout before we left the island. I highly recommend this hotel for families.

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — Bed sizes
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinjin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    247
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
299
494
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2008

I booked through Catalina's web site and chose the Romance Package. This was for my girlfriend's birthday and it was one of the best vacation's we've ever had together! The booking online was easy and there were many package options to choose from. I chose the romance package and there was chilled champagne, assorted chocolates and a small chocolate cake in the room when we arrived, and it included lunch at the nearby Country Club and two round trip tickets on the Catalina Express. The hotel is right in the middle of all of the shops and restaurants making it easy to walk around and then go back to the room for any reason. The room itself reminded us of the 60s with fresh paint and a modern update. We liked the bathroom and the space in the shower as well. Overall the room was great, the courtyard was very relaxing and nice and the staff was very helpful. One bad thing - the air conditioning got really cold and when turned up to compensate smelled a little stagnant, which wasn't a big deal as we were out during most of the day.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — AC was too cold.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2008

This hotel was an excellent deal and by far the best choice I made about this entire trip to Catalina. The staff was very accomodating, the property was well kept, and the rooms were spotless. All of the pictures that were shown online were an accurate representation of what your room will look like when you arrive. We were lucky enough to be able to check in early even though check in was not until more than three hours away. Check out was smooth sailing on a Monday, and they had a complimentary baggage check with a constant on duty man watching all of the luggage.
The hotel offered some great perks like free dvds to watch in your room, available at the front desk which was attended for 24 hours a day. Each room was equipped with a Dvd player, refridgerator, and coffee maker. The continental breakfast was not extravagant, but a great start to a day. The weather was amazing, but the water was still quite cold, too cold for swimming.
My boyfriend and I agree that we would probably not even look elsewhere if we were to return to Catalina, the Pavilion Lodge is the ONLY place to stay.

  • Liked — Great staff, Excellent Breakfast, Super clean rooms
  • Disliked — Bed could have been softer and longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Missyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We booked our stay via www.visitcatalinaisland.com/ which offered an internet special deal that included our ferry trip and two choices of tours (we took the casino tour- TOTALLY recommend, and glass bottomed boar tour).

Anyway, Pavillion Lodge was great! What a wonderful place- clean, pleasant, quiet, everything you could want. It had charm and class, like mid-century modern meets a beach house, but it was still affordable. The linens were soft and luxurious, the staff friendly and courteous, bathroom was clean and well maintained, and if you're newly engaged (i.e. if your boyfriend has just proposed to you!) they'll get you a complimentary bottle of champagne : )

It was so convenient and close to everything, and our room was just far enough back off the beach that we weren't bothered by any street/boardwalk noise. It was overall such a pleasant stay- I would totally recommend this to anybody wanting to come visit. Great for couples, would probably be nice for families as well.

  • Liked — location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — can't think of anything! maybe wish they had free internet/wireless?
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

I wanted something close to the beach and yet nice enough to stay in the room and chill. The "black-out" curtains made for perfect midday napping. The Refrigerator was large and helped save a lot of money on food. It was a pretty quiet place despite being the week after Easter. This is isn't a luxury hotel but its great for the price, comfort and location.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Brendan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The Pavillion Lodge is probably the best hotel in Catalina. The lobby is very quaint and the staff is generous as well. Their motto, "14 steps from the beach" is really true. I counted. The courtyard and sitting area are very pretty, clean, and just nice and relaxing. My favorite thing about the hotel is the location. It is located right in town, and next to all shops, and resteraunts. Also, the street that it is located on, no cars are allowed to drive on it so that is nice. The rooms are very light and airy, and bigger than I expected. Another great thing about the hotel is it is really close to where the Catalina Express docks. One last thing, all of the other hotels on the street where no cars are allowed, have stairs, and a hallway leading to the lobby, Pavillion doesn't it is all open grounds, which is nice!! One problem though, the roll- aways have a bar on the bottom which makes you not sleep. Overall, I loved the Pavillion Lodge, and would definetly reccomend it!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything!! (location and atmosphere mostly)
  • Disliked — the roll-away beds(otherwise nothing)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hethers-land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Deigo , ca.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We were pleasently surprised! We got a mid week special with round trip boat , two tours and two nights for about 300.00 dollars. This was not my first trip here but it was my first stay at the Pavilion. All I can say is CLEAN. It would have been nice to have a jacuzzi or pool, but I was very happy needless to say. Yes, Catalina is quite after dark. But we stayed busy during the day and watched movies in the peasefullness of our room. Bigger muffins or bagels would have been nice for the contental breakfast. But the location was close enough to grab anything else we may want. After staying at other places ( b&b's, ect..) This WAS the best for location, price and cleanliness!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank karenb425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing