We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem on Catalin”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
River Edge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic gem on Catalin”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I planned to spend the day in Avalon and return to L.A. We came upon the Pavillion and loved the look and feel of it. We immediately went in to see if there was a room available for the night. Drago, who was working at the front desk, was welcoming and so helpful. We secured a room for the night and his guidance and knowledge of the island made for an amazing trip to Catalina. The staff was wonderful and I can't wait for my return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    244
    38
    14
    10
See reviews for
293
487
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banning, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our country club organized 48 of us for a stay at Pavilion Hotel and dinner at Avalon Grill. Excellent location, a very fine wine and cheese reception in the afternoon and a decent breakfast. Our king bedroom was very nice, flat screen TV and refrigerator. Could have used more lighting around the makeup mirror.
The grounds are very nice and all of the staff were helpful. Dinner at Avalon Grill was very good as was lunch at Steve’s Steakhouse. My only wish was to been able to stay longer. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Our room, 308, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We love staying at this hotel; from the moment we were there the staff was taking care of us! We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the later afternoon, and it was delicious, and the view of the blue water and pier was so relaxing! The breakfast was a wonderful assortment of fruit, breads, cereal, and coffee and much more, it was not your normal continental breakfast! We love our room, close to everything and very comfortable beds and pillows! We also enjoyed the lounge chairs in the garden area; it was very quiet and relaxing one afternoon. We would stay here again and look forward to coming back. Did I mention how wonderful the staff was!! Excellent job guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband, baby and I stayed at the Pavilion for 2 nights and we really had a wonderful time! We LOVED the gardens more than anything, the convenience of a great location (just across the beach and around all restaurants, lover's cove, every thing). The rooms were also very nice and pleasant. Love the bathrooms.

The breakfast was delish! they had fresh fuirts every day (loved the mangoes) all cut and beautifully set up, croissants, different pastries, bread, bagel, lattes, capuccinos, and hard boil eggs. They had water all day long for the guest and great lunges in the garden.

From 4:30 to 5:30 they serve complimentary wine and cheese with toast bagels and we loved that too. Nice wine as well not the real cheap kind.

The staff was very accomodating. Special thanks to Leti, the siblings that were visiting on an exchange program, Oscar, Gabriel, Alex, who where there for us all the time! and to Martin! who was the first one receiving us!

Thanks to all of you for making a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiDanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location is outstanding, the service is impeccable, and the room was great!!! We never missed the wine and cheese in the afternoon. In fact, we planned our activities so that we would be back in time. The breakfast was plentiful and one of the staff made us cappuccinos every morning. The bed was SO comfortable and I slept great. What is not to love?? A bit of luxury at a reasonable price. It would have been great if they had included robes too but I'm not going to quibble over that.

We will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Undertraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Pavilion because it was so close to the boat dock and they sent someone to collect our luggage. It had just been remodeled the last time we went and was just remodeled once again this time. It was beautiful. We loved it. We especially loved sitting in the outdoor lounge area, sipping orange water and coffee and people watching. At night we sat by the fire pit and visited. In the morning we ate the lovely breakfast which is included as we sat once again in the lounge area, and in the afternoon, just before dinner, we had cheese and orange water. It was lovely. We spent a lot of time in that area, because there were a lot of us and we were getting acquainted. It was perfect. Oh, and we had a little patio in the shade of our room. That was really sweet.

Room Tip: Lower floor costs a little more, but I can't climb stairs so it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseannaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've been 5 different times to Catalina and this was our 1st time at Pavilion Hotel, compared to the other hotels we've stayed in there, this was our favorite, we will definitely be back! The staff was all very friendly and helpful (I mean even the housekeeping was awesome), the room was nice, and the cheese and wine in the afternoon was the cherry on top! We got the Unlimited package for our family of 4 and enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling, miniature golfing, rock climbing, underwater exploration sub ride, and golf cart rental.. so needless to say we had LOTS of fun!! Our ONLY complaint is that the two beds in the rooms were FULL size beds and they were too small for our liking, next time we go we will need a bigger suite or a better sleeping situation with our 2 kids. For Catalina (which we have found to be hit or miss with restaurants and hotels) the Pavilion Hotel is a HIT for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anni422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing