We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I took two friends who had never been to the island before for a birthday celebration and a weekend getaway. I was happy with the location of the hotel, being right off of front street and a short walk from the shuttle landing. The room as very nice, clean and well furnished for three people. But what really made the trip a great success was the staff. I had booked a package deal and when I tried to use some of the services, other than what was directly on hotel property, I was let down. The Avalon Grill was a hugh disappointment in the staff, their attitude and how the place was represented. Needless to say I will NEVER return nor suggest it to anyone in the future.. When Ibrough it up to the hotel staff, before I could even finish my compaint, teh night manager was on the phone to the grill and lodged a formal compaint on out behalf. I thought that was great.
I had also booked a few adventures on the island, one being the Eco Zip Tour. but for some reason one of the reservations did not make it to the comapny and I had to pay cas for the full price of the event. When I returend to the hotel, I was greeted by the same gentleman and there was no question as to refundig the full price I had to pay, but HOW to make it happen. He offered a very heartfelt apology and gave me the full price of teh event on my credit card.
If you ever want a great place to stay while on the island.. there is no better place than the Pavalion..

Room Tip: if you can afored teh upgardes, I would suggest it.. it just makes the trip that much more comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Couldn't pass up the great winter rates at the Pavilion Hotel, Did a package deal which included the boat from Dana Point, a room and unlimited tours for two days.
Took my 3 year old grandson for his first trip to Catalina and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Avalon. The room was clean and the hotel staff where always helpful and courteous. Nice little continental breakfast and great coffee to go.
My grandson enjoyed the grounds and called it his "backyard". Location is the best in Avalon. A short walk from the boat terminal, seconds from the beach and pleasure pier, and right in the middle of it all.
Would recommend the Pavilion Hotel to everyone who wants to enjoy Avalon...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtDogBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I've stayed in a few different locations on the Island, but this is by far the best place. The location is perfect, the fire pit is a great place to sit and read a book, and the free wine and cheese hour is definitely worth a trip back at 4:00PM. The continental breakfast is indeed continental, so if you're wanting something more substantial, you will have to go elsewhere, but it is a very nice quality. (Mango, pineapple, cantaloupe, croissants, bagels, peanut butter, jam, cereal, coffee and tea.)

The rooms are cozy with a nice flat screen TV and good quality amenities. As with most places on the island, the walls are thin, so you do run the risk of hearing your neighbors. I liked staying upstairs so that i didn't have to worry about having someone over my head.

Avalon is completely walkable, so enjoy the city and make sure to come back in time for the wine and cheese.

Room Tip: Pick a room upstairs. We stayed toward the back of the property, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Beautiful ambiance, rooms feel like your staying with a friend in a guest beach house.. The decor is relaxing and the hotel is central to anywhere u want to be on the island.. They take care of all ur reservations and have complimentary wine and cheese every night... We got a great package deal including transportation and island activities.. Loved our stay and will be back soon..

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiehue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A perfect visit to the Pavilion Hotel on Catalina Island. Excellent service from Check -in to Check -out. The beautiful Christmas tree in our suite, brought a warm "home for the holidays" for my family. The courtyard was beautifully maintained with accent palms for enjoying the ISLAND feeling. Our stay was complimented by an engaging staff, complimentary bottle of wine to my ZIPLINE ride of a lifetime. The Catalina Express was calm sea's upon arrival and departure. This special Pavalion Hotel package offered so many discovery tours that I will have to return very soon. CUTE spot!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A wonderful hotel foot steps from the beach and in the heart of Avalon! I loved everything about the Pavilion from the decor, the location, the wine and cheese at Happy Hour, and breakfast. What really capped it off was the special package which included the cost of the ferry ride and my choice of 8 Discover tours on the island. It included tours of the island, a boat ride showing the marine life, a zip line, and even a movie! What a great deal on a wonderful vacation! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We took a family trip to Avalon for a 4 day weekend, and stayed at the Pavilion Hotel. The hotel was small and had a great getaway feel. During out stay we took advantage of the unlimited package that allowed us to do various tours and activities such as inland motor tours, casino tours, and unlimited climbs on the rock wall. The location of the hotel had a great view of the ocean from their wine bar and patio area, so the guests are able to enjoy the beautiful beach setting while getting some breakfast and wine tasting time. The hotel is also very close to the docks, just a few minutes walk.

If your reservations is stuck with the bottom floor be aware of guests on the second floor, the walls and floors are not very insulated so any guests above you walking around could keep you up at night. Also, the staff tries to enforce the rules but guests still do what they want such as smoke in the rooms and balcony's of the rooms even though they are not suppose to.

Overall, it was a good place to stay and we had a lot of fun and got a lot of relaxation.

Room Tip: Try to get an 2nd floor room, which won't have other guests stopping around above you while tryi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kchen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: $176 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing