We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back next year Thank You”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
“Coming back next year Thank You”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a conference at the start of week and completely forgot about memorial vacation- Booked last minute Hotel Metropole in Catalina. No clue about where it was- next day when I showed up stress lifted and I was in Heaven on vacation. The beds were comfortable, the hotel was quiet for a mid day nap, roof top deck Jacuzzi really helped-
Very excited to come back next year-

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judd h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    143
    51
    17
    22
See reviews for
101
226
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved their suites! We were in room 321 and it was directly across the Avalon bay. Loved the view every morning. We were surprised by a bottle of complimentary champagne and breakfast every morning. The staff were helpful and accommodating. The only drawback was the bathroom had a sliding window for the jacuzzi to open up to the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovebirdsfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great location, clean comfortable rooms, great personable staff, very informative about places to go & things to do. Very eager to please & made our stay a most pleasureable one. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip which will be in the near future. Would highly recommend to all as their accommodations, courtesy, hospitality, customer service and professionalism are second to none.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAManzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel Metropole was very clean, staff helpful. We came in before check in time and our room was ready. Spacious, light and bright. A continental breakfast is served daily and it is well done! Walking distance to all restaurants and attractions. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went there for a mini family vacation it was very nice. Its a perfect family hotel!!! The customer service was awesome and the rooms were very clean. We are actually planning another mini vacation for this summer and we are definitely booking with Hotel Metropole.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessG-929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed at he Metropole many, man6 times over the last 30 years.
Its a family traditon in our family.
The rooms are always spotlessly clean and nicely appointed with large flatscreen TVs , etc.
The thing that may standout the most about the Metropole is the very real and friendly staff.
These are not some kind of corporate forced " we love you " zombies that you find nowadays at banks and supermarkets. These are real and concerned people who like their jobs and it shows.
We always enjoy their continental breafast bar / buffet. Taking it back to the room to eat on the small balconies or with the sea breeze blowing into the room.
Great place to stay when you go there...in fact the ONLY place to stay on Catalina.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corona
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband surprised me this weekend by taking me to Catalina Island. He booked a romantic getaway for the two of us and booked us a great room at the Hotel Metropole. We arrived before their guaranteed check in time and the friendly front desk girl said our room was ready and checked us in. Upon entering the room we were surpised with a bottle of champagne on ice. Our room was beautiful, clean and very spacious. It had a balcony facing the side street but from our balcony we had a glimpse of the ocean and the Casino building. We also had a nice jacuzzi bathtub and a fireplace. it definitely was a very romantic room.
Throughout our stay the staff was very friendly and helpful. The Hotel Metropole exceeded our expectations. . We are already planning our next trip here with our kids.
We will let all of our family and friends know of what a great place this!! Will definitely come back

Room Tip: Best place in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babylkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 205 Crescent Ave., P.O. Box 1900, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#8 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropole is the finest beachfront hotel on the island. VIP Oceanfront suites, jacuzzi baths, balconies, fireplaces available, complimentary continental breakfast, 40" flat screen TV's, free wifi, L'Occitane products, Frette linens, slippers & robes, rooftop jacuzzi and sundeck, private 2-bedroom Beach House, A Touch of Heaven day spa. The Metropole Market Place is just downstairs: miniature bowling, XT theater and arcade, Metropole Cafe, Coney's famous eatery, M Restaurant by ZEST, full service beauty salon, jewelry, clothing, unique gifts, gallery, special coffees and freshly baked treats, natural products and holistic remedies. Our property has everything you need for an amazing vacating on Catalina island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Avalon
Hotel Metropole Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing