We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Breakfast With a Great Seaside View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Breakfast With a Great Seaside View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very nice service and nice menu with a great location. The pancakes were so yummy and the service was prompt and friendly..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kansasboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please upgrade your coffee!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food was good here (above average). Service was a little slow (below average). And the coffee was one of the worst cups if coffee I've had in my life. It tasted weak and watered down. I was wondering if maybe they accidentally ran it through the same grounds twice?? But both the decaf and regular coffee tasted this way.

It would have been a pretty positive experience, but unfortunately coffee can make or break a breakfast. I may try again but I'll ask for a cup of coffee in the lobby before committing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhpolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Service & Food on the Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I came over on September 9, 2013 for the day to relax on my birthday. I walked straight from the boat to the restaurant. After a little chaos at the door with other customers, I asked to be seated by the window, which they did. The server immediate told me "Happy Birthday" which made be feel special! Given coffee and water immediately as I sat down. Ordered the pigs in a blanket (see my picture). It was the best breakfast I have every had on the island. I little pricey as everything else is on Catalina, but your in paradise. Everyone deserves to spoil themselves and Catalina is the place to do it!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_Cabo_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too pricey for food quality!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I picked up breakfast here and the burritos were huge but not really that good. The mix in the burrito didn;t really go well together, it was like they had never made one before. So weird. Won't be back...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crymsin_Blessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but a nice treat for couples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It costs $80 per couple for 2 lounge chairs, which is pretty expensive, but if it's a nice, sunny, crowded day, it's worth it. You can get on Descanso Beach for only $2 per person, but that beach area is small, and very crowded. If you get there early (before 11am) and have your own chairs, you can probably find a spot, but you won't get the great service for food and drinks that you will by paying for a private lounge chair. They have cabanas too, which accommodate groups and families, but they are $200+ for the day. If there's just 2 of you, the $80 lounge chairs are fine, but if you're a larger group or family (and money is no concern) then maybe you want to pony up for a cabana...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing