We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind the Scenes Casino Tour”

Catalina Island Casino
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The iconic Catalina Casino epitomizes everything glamorous about Santa Catalina Island.On the lower level the building features extraordinary Art Deco murals and a classic 1929 pipe organ inside the Avalon Theatre, which still shows movies on its massive screen.The top level of this 12 story high architectural wonder features the beautiful, world-famous Casino Ballroom, a masterpiece of design and a long-standing venue for the world’s best musical performers and big bands. It is also a popular venue for weddings and special events. The only access to the building is through an exclusive Casino Tour offered through Discovery Tours. Once on the tour you’ll soon understand why many call this the most romantic place in Catalina.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Behind the Scenes Casino Tour”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is well worth it. Spend the extra money for the Behind the Scenes version of the tour. Joe is an awesome tour guide, he's friendly, knowledgeable and good sense of humor. Since it was the off-season we lucked out on being the only couple on the tour for that time slot so it was like having a private tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrishTomKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    152
    31
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Mystery Ghost Tour”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have a question for those who took the 8pm Mystery Ghost Tour at Avalon March/10/2013.
If anybody got their identity stolen or your credit card got charged either in CA or another
State...like it was in my case. Somebody insistently called me from the Mystery Tour claiming they
needed more information on my credit card; such as: Zip Code, address, security code, etc. I got 4 insistent calls needing this info and that same night my credit card was charged at a gas station in Portland. I still had card in my possession. My bank called me next day. Please post it here if you had similar experience. Thank you

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrizia78128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“"Discover the Casino," 1929 Movie House and Ballroom”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you go to Catalina, you HAVE to check out the Casino. Not as in "gambling house," but as in original Italian sense of "ballroom." WOW! Amazing architecture, artwork, gold and silver in the ceiling, built in one continuous concrete pour in 1929. First "talking" movie house in the nation! Absolutely stunningly beautiful. Tour guide Emily was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MailmanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning building”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Avalon casino building is a gorgeous place, both from the inside and the outside. It is well worth photographing. Views of the bay are all around you - quite stunning - a photographer's haven. However, the tour of the place is NOT worth the $ 10.00 that you pay. They rush you through the tour and do not talk about the important parts of the casino. The tour guide we had rushed us through the casino and spoke in a monotone boring tone. She sounded like she prepared a pre-recorded boring speech. You are better off seeing this place on your own. However, that is not allowed. If you want to see the place, you have to pay the $ 10.00 guided tour price.. I would much rather pay $ 7.00 - $ 10.00 in the form of an admission ticket and allow me to tour and photograph the place on my own. That is not currently possible. The tour of the place is advertised as being 40 minutes long but that is false advertisement. The tour is 27 - 30 minutes in length tops. Of these minutes, about 5-8 minutes are spent outside the building in front of the main doors when the tour guide talks about the history of the place. The building is superb but the guided tour of the place is not worth it at all. Worst tour and tour guide I have ever seen in over 25 years of travel. I hope that the casino people are listening and I hope that they make some positive changes based on this feedback.. That remains to be seen.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Saul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
930 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Iconic”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the most famous building here which also has a movie theater. Worth seeing up close and expect to see a lot of divers

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelshooter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Island Casino also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Island Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing