We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the history and beautiful architecture.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalina Island Casino

Catalina Island Casino
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The iconic Catalina Casino epitomizes everything glamorous about Santa Catalina Island.On the lower level the building features extraordinary Art Deco murals and a classic 1929 pipe organ inside the Avalon Theatre, which still shows movies on its massive screen.The top level of this 12 story high architectural wonder features the beautiful, world-famous Casino Ballroom, a masterpiece of design and a long-standing venue for the world’s best musical performers and big bands. It is also a popular venue for weddings and special events. The only access to the building is through an exclusive Casino Tour offered through Discovery Tours. Once on the tour you’ll soon understand why many call this the most romantic place in Catalina.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the history and beautiful architecture.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This building is so beautiful. We even went back to watch a movie there just so we could say we saw a movie in a theater built in 1929. Plus, it's amazing inside.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank drake23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    147
    30
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Hollywood, CA.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island in the sky...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was actually one of the best places ever! The ferry ride over to the Island was spectacular, exciting, and beautiful.
Once on the Island, there is an abundance of activities to partake in. Deep sea divining, snorkeling, kayaking, and so much more.
Descending beach, another part of the island was amazing.
You have to see it to believe it.
Trust me you won't regret it at all.

Helpful?
Thank Williamgabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Casino tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our tour guide Kathy only helped to make this wonderful tour even better. The theater is a wowser and the ballroom was icing on the cake. If you are on catalina this is the dont miss tour. And if you are lucky you will get kathy to show you around

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Catalina Expeditions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fantastic tour! Charles was informative, funny and very friendly.
Thank you for a great time on our Jeep tour over Catalina Island :-)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bianca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes tour was great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We reluctantly decided to tour the Casino and discovered it was a fantastic tour. Our guide, Portia, sang the Avalon song acapella from the stage. We were also serenaded by the organist who stopped by to practice. We heard old time movie music and a rendition of the Phantom of the Opera. Lots of info, beautiful artwork, and living history. A visit to the museum was included in the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Island Casino also viewed

 
Catalina Island, CA
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Catalina Island Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing