We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Lunch Place for Us”
Review of Monkey Cat

Monkey Cat
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkey Cat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 167 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cherry
Description: We have a large indoor dinning area, complete with bar & lounge. When the weather is nice, enjoy our outdoor patio. For larger groups, parties, business meetings and such we have a banquet room for rental throughout the whole year!
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New Lunch Place for Us”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having lived in Auburn for a number of years hadn't tried the MC. On Thursday's I meet with a group of ladies and lately we have been going out for lunch. We've tried a couple of different places downtown and have decided we like this place the best.

Very nice ambiance and good value for lunch. Our servers have always been helpful.

They have some different things to try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Liz! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you had a pleasant experience and we look forward to you visiting us in the future! If you become a frequent diner, go to opentable.com to create reservations and earn points towards a gift certificate redeemable at Monkey Cat. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    36
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Need to try again”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have heard good things about this place but our experience was not very positive. Braised short ribs was 85% fat. Meal was comped and they were very apologetic. They also have us an after dinner cocktail. Based on the way they handled the situation I will definately try them out again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi there!
Thanks for taking the time to review Monkey Cat. Sorry that the meal wasn't great, I'm very glad the situation was handled correctly. We no longer have the short ribs on the menu and now we have a fantastic Flat Iron steak with an Asian Marinade and Shiitake Mushroom Sesame sauce. I hope that you come in again soon and try us again! If you have a moment please "like" our facebook page.
facebook.com/themonkeycat

Thank you!
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“not bad, not great”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

the ambiance was better than the food. One person was super nice, the next not so much...just all right.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review Monkey Cat.
I am sorry to hear that the food and one person wasn't the best. I do hope that you'll come in again soon to try us out. To stay updated with specials and all the happenings at Monkey Cat, please take a minute to go "like" our facebook page.

facebook.com/themonkeycat

Thanks!
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some exciting tastes”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having avoided this place for years (due to lack of good food) we took a party of 6 for a casual dinner. Not expecting anything special, I was amazed at the warm and friendly service, first, then the appetizers were discovered to be delightful in both quantity and quality. A little disappointment in the rib eye ( one pound!). They were from a large spencer , so were large rather than thick. I prefer the thick. The steak was good- the sea food/pasta was totally consumed and the fillet mignon was both generous and easy to eat. Suggest a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 75jellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello!
Thanks for taking the time to review Monkey Cat! I am glad that you enjoyed your meal, sorry that the Ribeye wasn't quite what you expected. If you haven't had a chance yet, please take a moment and go "like" our facebook page! We'll be having another give-a-way soon!

facebook.com/themonkeycat

Thanks,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite date spot!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this place and fell in love!! It's affordable and delicious, what more can you ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AkashaHepcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Akasha! Thanks again for all the kind words! I hope that you enjoyed the bottle of wine you won for "liking" our facebook page! Come visit us soon!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monkey Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing