We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Monkey Cat

Monkey Cat
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkey Cat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 172 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cherry
Description: We have a large indoor dinning area, complete with bar & lounge. When the weather is nice, enjoy our outdoor patio. For larger groups, parties, business meetings and such we have a banquet room for rental throughout the whole year!
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Unable to decide, my daughter chose the eggplant Parmesan and a sauteed chicken breast. I had a chicken dish with sauteed spinach and mushrooms that was fantastic. A glass of local wine enhanced our meal and the Tiramisu for dessert was a fantastic finish to a wonderful meal. The service was awesome also.

Thank JeniWren70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! I hope to see you in again soon.
To stay updated with the latest happenings at Monkey Cat please go "like" our Facebook page

facebook.com/themonkeycat

Thanks! Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter and I stopped in for a bite in late December. The decor is interesting, service so so. We did love the antipasti plate. It including many quality cheeses. It was especially great since we received happy hour pricing. Our entree was not memorable, but was passable.

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelhobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

An interesting decor and some very tasty food. We were there on a Sunday night and it was very quiet and not crowded. The service was friendly but NOT very attentive. Have not been at the Monkey Cat when they have live music so can't comment about how it might be when the entertainment is taking place.

Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hi Bob,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your server was not very attentive the evening you came in. I promise you that will not be the case next time. As far as the live music goes, we do not have live music at our restaurant. However down the street from us the Club Car often has live music. I've heard it's pretty good.
We hope to see you in again soon! Thank you,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Took my family there to honor my husband, who had just died, because he like the place. The bread was stale and had to request a new basket. Steak order was cold and had to be sent back, and lettuce in Caesar salad was wilted. Very disappointing evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Monkey Cat. We remember your visit, and are sad that you didn't bring up your disappointment to us right away. We would have been happy to have removed the Ceaser Salad from your ticket. We did fix the steak problem right away, and we are sorry that you were still so unhappy with every thing. We have had some changes in the kitchen and would like to ask you to come back and give us a second chance. We appreciate your honesty, and hope that you will visit us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Monkey Cat is in an old storefront in the center of Auburn. Decor is black with white furniture; very sharp! We went for dinner and were impressed by the innovative ideas on the menu. Service was quite good and time was taken to explain the dishes to us.

Three of us had: Caesar salad: a mixed house salad with a distinctive house dressing: and insalata Caprese made with heirloom tomatoes.

For mains we had a skirt steak stuffed the chorizo and chevre, and seafood pasta with salmon, mussels and clams (perfectly al dente). We were tempted by the desserts shown to us and chose limoncello cake and a flourless chocolate cake. They have several reasonably priced wines on their list.

All in all, this place deserves its high ranking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monkey Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing