We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no big deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monkey Cat

Monkey Cat
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkey Cat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cherry
Description: We have a large indoor dinning area, complete with bar & lounge. When the weather is nice, enjoy our outdoor patio. For larger groups, parties, business meetings and such we have a banquet room for rental throughout the whole year!
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“no big deal”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

rather pretentious. "wana be" important people are never far away.
food was ok... small portions.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi! Thanks for dining with us at the Monkey Cat. We see you weren't super impressed and we invite you to come back and try out our new menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This used to be the local pool parlor and was overrun with almost every crawling insect imaginable. The pool is gone, the bugs are not in evidence and the food is fair. Prices are a bit steep for the quality but, hey, if you waznt something a little different Monkeycat is it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Public Relations Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Ted,
I feel like you may of had us confused with a different place, previous to it being the Monkey Cat, the building was the General Store. I believe that pool parlor was actually down the street near tre Pazzi, if not that actual building. Either way, we appreciate you coming in and would like to invite you to come back, our menu has changed since your last visit, and we have some exciting new foods & wine.
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in soon!
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Excellent food with good service. Right in the heart of downtown Auburn.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have now been to Monkeycat twice in the past 4 months. We had wonderful food both times and our server was wonderful. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
406 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Wish They'd Expand Their Menu”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We took friends to Monkeycat around Christmas. We always get a good meal and knew our guests would also enjoy it. Food is attractively served and the waitress we had was very personable. We used our Entertainment Card so we didn't feel the bite of the bill when it came. Actually, their meals are very reasonable priced for an upscale restaurant. They have a sweet little backroom for large parties and also summertime dinning on the patio which is nice.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley95603, Manager at Monkey Cat, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi! We appreciate your feedback and would like to invite you to come try our new menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Cat also viewed

 

Been to Monkey Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing