We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything, quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to everything, quiet”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose this hotel based on high reviews and were not disappointed. Close to everything in Auburn. Easy access to Highway 80 yet very quiet. Beds were comfy. We had a choice of firm or soft pillows labeled and set out on the bed. Large flat screen TV. Separate coffee station area (not in bathroom). If you prefer Starbucks, there is one a couple blocks away. Friendly greeting on arrival. As reviewed previously, clean. Would definitely stay again next visit to Auburn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVONYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    66
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
35
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A friend and I stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn in Auburn while we did some golf and sightseeing. We found the hotel and our room to be very clean, the staff friendly so the sleeping was easy. They have a restaurant and we did room service one night. The food was ok but pricey, about what we expected. It's right off I-80 but is definitely a step up from your typical interstate off-ramp overnight type of place. If we go back to Auburn we would stay there again, without doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psppete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our second time staying here. This time we reserved an executive room and was not disappointed. The room was very spacious and clean. We spent a few days in the area for a few different festivals. Country Christmas in Auburn and Victorian Christmas in Nevada City. We like this place so much we are staying again in early March. The service was very accomadating and made us feel like we were regulars. This is our only choice for staying in Auburn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winecountrylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are on your way to Tahoe from anywhere, or if you are just passing through Auburn and want a great place to stop, I recommend the Holiday Inn. When you first walk into the hotel, the staff at the front desk are friendly, professional, and attentive. We were given our rooms and found the rooms to be more than adequate. The rooms were clean, well maintained, and met our expectations. The only downfall was I had requested a top floor room because I am such a light sleeper and wasn't given one. BUT, I didn't correct the situation when I noticed the mistake and accepted the room. So, I wasn't assertive and it was my fault for not correcting the situation.
If you don't want to drive very far, I also recommend the restaurant, Max's on the premises. The restaurant food is good and the wait staff is friendly and they make sure that you have a positive dining experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor away from I-80 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocustTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As Holiday Inns go, this hotel is a nice one. If you are coming from San Francisco Bay Area, this hotel is a convenient short drive to the northwest Tahoe ski resorts (Sugar Bowl, Donner, Boreal, etc...). While nothing beats staying at one of South Lake Tahoe hotels with all of the amenities, shops, and an opportunity to pay for your trip at one of the Nevada casinos, for an overnighter ski trip, this hotel makes for an easy AM drive to the ski resorts. Clean and quiet with personable staff and a decent restaurant onsite (Max's) as well as an In-N-Out next door and gas stations in the vicinity, this hotel is a good value. They should offer a continental breakfast for an early AM start...but they don't and thus don't get 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hodad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here en route from San Francisco to Tahoe skiing to avoid having to drive the mountains through snow, and was really impressed by the hotel. First time in years that I have stayed at a Holiday Inn, and came away feeling I have been missing out. Great value, large clean room (upgraded by manager), full service quality restaurant, quiet though easy access to interstate 80, very friendly front desk, extremely comfortable mattress, fresh baked cookies in late afternoon. No complaints whatsoever for this picky consumer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Woci;

WOW, thank you so much! I can’t explain how wonderful it feels knowing your experience here at the Holiday Inn Auburn was positive and left you impressed. I'm fortunate to have a team that truly wants our guests to enjoy all aspects of their stay.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity. We hope to have you back again during 2013!

Sincerely,
Tami Caufield
General Manager
530.887.8787
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Auburn. Due to snow/bad weather on I-80 we had to find a place to stay overnight. I booked the hotel with Holiday Inn over the phone on the highway and when we got there they had the room all ready. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was very comfortable, spacious and cozy. Even though the weather was cold outside the decor and atmosphere was warm and inviting. We went to Max's restaurant for dinner and breakfast which is accessible from inside the hotel. Both meals were delicious. I'm so glad that we were able to find such a nice place to stay. If we ever have to stay in Auburn we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boysrthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
0.3 mi away
Power's Mansion Inn
Power's Mansion Inn
#1 of 3 in Auburn
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn
Address: 120 Grass Valley Hwy, Auburn, CA 95603-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wonder and enchantment of California’s Gold Country at the award-winning Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel in Auburn, California. Situated along the northern belt of Mother Lode, amid lush pastures and gentle rolling foothills, this Auburn, CA hotel offers a beguiling blend of unsurpassed beauty and unrivaled service. Since its opening in 1995, the Holiday Inn in Auburn, California, has been the recipient of esteemed honors, including the 1996 Holiday Inn Worldwide Hotel of the Year award. In 2009, the hotel received the Holiday Inn Excellence Award, and, most recently, was recognized as a California Certified Green Hotel. Impeccable service, courteous and skilled staff, and well-appointed interiors have made the hotel the showpiece of the Gold Country. "Everything You Always Wanted to Eat!", Max's is one of the Bay Area's most popular restaurants – famous for delicious food, generous portions, and irresistible desserts. You can choose from Max's large selection of deli style sandwiches and wide array of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service and "take out" also available. Our Auburn conference location is close enough to Sacramento for easy access, yet far enough away to escape the corporate congestion and unwind for your gold country area conference or executive meeting. The latest technology in high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel, and we offer a business center complete with computer work station, printer, and photocopier. Our onsite meeting professional will assist with your every conference need and can schedule golf, skiing or site-seeing trips for your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing