We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Holiday Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Staff was very helpful, professional, and accommodating. They provided all the services we needed to prepare for a wedding and were pleasant and friendly at all times. The common areas were user friendly, and the restaurant in the hotel was very convenient. Although Max's didn't open until 8 AM, there was coffee and tea available in the lobby, making early risers happy!

Room Tip: Room 248 is sometimes noisy as it is right next to the door that enters the hallway to Max's res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Paulette F;

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Auburn.

I'm happy to know you found my team very helpful, professional, and accommodating. In addition, pleased to hear we were able to provide you with the services needed to assist with wedding preparation.

With many hotel options, we are grateful to have been your choice!

Sincerely,
Tami Caufield
General Manager
Holiday Inn Auburn
530.887.8787
www.auburnhi.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
49
35
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just had a fabulous stay at the Auburn, Ca Holiday Inn. What a lovely hotel, we'll definitely return. The hotel is beautiful, nicely decorated and has very well-appointed and clean rooms. The bedding is very nice and comfy. The hotel common areas are extremely nice as well. There is a lovely pool and jacuzzi courtyard and lobby area. Also extremely nice is the restaurant - Max's. We had a delicious breakfast. The hotel staff is extremely nice and accommodating. This facility would be a great place to host a family reunion - something we'll consider in the future as we have family in the area. The convenient location, just off 80 and near downtown Auburn cannot be better.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosGatosTravelSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear LosGatosTravelSal ;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad to hear your stay was fabulous. With so much to do in and around Auburn I couldn’t agree with you more in regard to being a great place for a family reunion. My team and I would be honored to be home away from home for a future family reunion.

Thanks again. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

Regards,
Tami Caufield
General Manager
Holiday Inn Auburn
530-887-8787
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights while on a business trip to Auburn. As the other reviewers state, the staff was positive and professional. I was especially surprised by a wild mushroom pasta dish in their restaurant, Max's--quite tasty. One night I had a rather bland salmon salad, but wait staff was attentive. I had difficulty finding the hotel traveling north from Sacramento. Hotel signs are not visible at the street address. Hotel is set back off the street and up the hill. My room was clean and comfortable. Couldn't get the drapes to close all the way. Could have used a clip to hold it closed--an idea I read about in a travel magazine. Rasonable rate. Would stay there again for my next business trip. Close to Old Town Auburn where I had a lovely breakfast on the patio at Aweful Annie's.

Room Tip: As a solo traveler I don't stay in ground floor rooms. Southwest facing rooms face the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrLucyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had to travel to Auburn, CA recently for a funeral. We can't say enough about how kind, warm and attentive the staff was. The bartenders and servers at the Inn's restaurant couldn't have been more kind, attentive and professional. The food and service were excellent. Our room was immaculate. The grounds impeccably maintained. Front desk personnel were professional, polished, warm and attentive. Thank you one and all. When we return to visit family, we will again choose Holiday Inn Auburn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyDawgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Holiday Inn Auburn was such a delightful surprise for weary travelers! The beds were perfect and clean and comfy! The room was super nice. And very clean and white. I love the white! But one of the best parts of all was the staff. The front desk man was so amazing he actually printed our papers and faxed them for us! The business center was experiencing a glitch (user error on my part no doubt!) and he just said he would be happy to help us with it and he volunteered to not only print it, but fax it for us! above and beyond! its the little things in life that are wonderful isn't it?! Thank you young man! You made our stay! :)

Room Tip: we got a room furthest from the hwy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritneyG331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great Hotel! So clean and quiet and the service is above normal. We stayed for a family wedding so also got a decent price. Other things we liked were the pool and Max's Restaurant. Share food unless you're a big eater.

The location of this place is also exceptional. Even though you have to drive to it, Old Town Auburn is very close. Also has shopping area close by and an In & Out Burger right next door!

Room Tip: We were in Room 233 and it was great. The room isn't huge but comfortable and VERY clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranCran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we had a family wedding about 40 minutes away. It was your standard Holiday Inn, neat and clean. The one and only "complaint" (okay I lied in my review title! :) is that I felt like I was in a maze trying to find my room! Other than that, this place was fine! We stayed in a suite and I slept on the pull out couch, it wasn't bad! Nice flat screen TV's and good A/C units! Thanks for the good stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmsdean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
0.3 mi away
Power's Mansion Inn
Power's Mansion Inn
#1 of 3 in Auburn
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn
Address: 120 Grass Valley Hwy, Auburn, CA 95603-4500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wonder and enchantment of California’s Gold Country at the award-winning Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel in Auburn, California. Situated along the northern belt of Mother Lode, amid lush pastures and gentle rolling foothills, this Auburn, CA hotel offers a beguiling blend of unsurpassed beauty and unrivaled service. Since its opening in 1995, the Holiday Inn in Auburn, California, has been the recipient of esteemed honors, including the 1996 Holiday Inn Worldwide Hotel of the Year award. In 2009, the hotel received the Holiday Inn Excellence Award, and, most recently, was recognized as a California Certified Green Hotel. Impeccable service, courteous and skilled staff, and well-appointed interiors have made the hotel the showpiece of the Gold Country. "Everything You Always Wanted to Eat!", Max's is one of the Bay Area's most popular restaurants – famous for delicious food, generous portions, and irresistible desserts. You can choose from Max's large selection of deli style sandwiches and wide array of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service and "take out" also available. Our Auburn conference location is close enough to Sacramento for easy access, yet far enough away to escape the corporate congestion and unwind for your gold country area conference or executive meeting. The latest technology in high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel, and we offer a business center complete with computer work station, printer, and photocopier. Our onsite meeting professional will assist with your every conference need and can schedule golf, skiing or site-seeing trips for your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing