We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auburn late night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
santa barbara, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Auburn late night stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very nice front desk staff both in the evening and morning. Very helpful in advising some local sights with what were were looking to see and experience. Nice to see a Mac for guest to use. We did not get a chance to use the pool facilities as we got in late from a long trip accross Nev.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am very happy to read that my staff was able to help you with the local site information and that you liked our guest lobby computer when you stayed with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    187
    51
    12
    7
See reviews for
213
162
48
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
AUBURN, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Staff was great. Very helpful and polite. Pool and hot tub were a highlight for the kids. Breakfast was good especially the waffles. Location was fantastic, quick access to food and interstate. Would recommend to friends and would stay again if in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

the staff was very dog friendly and the room was very quiet we sleep very well we would like a larger selection of protein at breakfast in all a very pleasant 2 night stay with easy access to the highway

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theodore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad that you and your dogs enjoyed yourselves when you stayed with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed one night (2/23) and found it on a GPS/Phone search. It was a very pleasant surprise as everything went so smoothly. It was an easy check in with friendly staff. I asked about the restaurant next door - Lou La Bontes - and they said it was a nice place, Italian/American. After settling into our room, which was clean, efficient and had everything we needed, we walked over to the restaurant (which looks like it is attached to the hotel but really isn't just very close.) The meal was delicious and reasonably priced and a live Irish Band was playing just for the fun of it. We enjoyed it very much and highly recommend anyone staying at this BW to give it a try. In fact I'd recommend choosing this BW just for the proximity to the restaurant.

The bed was great, the room quiet and the TV got all the channels we liked.
The convenience of the included breakfast is always appreciated and it does seem that the B.W. chain has steadily improved the quality of all the independent franchises in recent years. Including this stay we have used a B.W. 5 times in the past 3 months and never been disappointed. We are planning to check them out first when in a new area as we believe the reliability is worth it.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your meal and experience at Lou La Bonte's and at our hotel and we look forward to your staying with us soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara On The Lake
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Auburn Golden Key and we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It is clean, nice size rooms with very comfortable beds and good Internet service. Typical B.W. breakfast but nicely laid out in a room with large windows! Beautifully landscaped. This hotel should be a B.W. Plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 51Chris4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad to see that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Trip Advisor said this was the best place in Auburn, and we can confirm that it was. We've stayed at several different Auburn places; this was the first time at the Best Western. It was clean, had those few little conveniences that surprise you (toothpaste!), and friendly. The only issue was the people above us were jumping around (it sounded like) and woke us up - need better sound insulation between the first and second floors!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel when you stayed with us. I am so glad to see that my staff took care of you in the way you deserved and that you appreciated the amenities we offer. I researched and found that you stayed in one of our Double Queen Rooms. The subflooring in that building is only plywood, unlike one of our King Room buildings that has concrete subflooring that seems to dissipate the noise a little better, but if you are not used to having someone above you, the noise made by the other guests on the upper level always seems to be a lot noisier. If the other guests in the unit above you were unreasonably loud, a call to our front desk to alert them of this problem would have had my staff to take appropriate action to ensure all of our guests were enjoying their stay. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently stayed at the Best Western Golden Key in Auburn, Ca and found it to be very clean, comfortable and friendly. I really liked the "green" energy savings features and they are extremely pet friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and I am glad to see that you appreciated the energy-efficient system we have installed in our rooms. So happy that you and your pet had a good time and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
20.4 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Auburn
Motel 6 Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Property: Best Western Golden Key
Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing