We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The office staff was friendly and helpful with ideas for dinner. The room was clean and inviting, the color scheme was really attractive. Bathroom was large with shampoo and shower gel dispenser.
Wifi works well. However a convenient hard wire at the desk was great. Bed was comfy.
The grounds are well landscaped with a great place to walk dogs. Yes, PetFriendly! There is an
outdoor jaccuzi and the pool is covered for use in winter.
Would stay here again and very convenient off I-80.

Room Tip: It is convenient to I-80..although traffic noise did not bother me. I am sure the units to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of these surveys about our hotel. I am so glad my staff was able to help you find dining nearby that you enjoyed. We do have quite a wide variety of restaurants with in a short distance of the hotel. We hope you will return soon to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    175
    50
    11
    7
See reviews for
207
152
45
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly greeting and helpful staff, clean and spacious. Very comfortable beds and found the energy saving key cards great! We had left an article behind. Staff was very helpful and informative. Many thanks to Chuck who was very kind and courteous in helping us getting it sent back to us and going the extra mile for us. Excellent service and value. Would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were very happy and satisfied with our stay at this hotel. Everything was clean and fresh and the grounds were very well kept. Our room was very nice and quite large. It smelled very clean without that overpowering perfume smell that some hotels have. There was a dispenser in the shower that was filled with shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. The bathroom was very large and clean. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. There were extra pillows and an extra blanket in the closet. There was an iron, ironing board, and a coffee maker in the room also. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel (because I overslept) but we did go in to the breakfast room after hours and everything was very clean. They had offered a huge variety of pastry, there were bagels & cream cheese, several types of cereal, fresh baked muffins, make your own waffles, fresh fruit and cups of fruit. They offered a good variety of teas also. We did not swim but we did go in and check out the pool area. The pool was covered and the water was clean and very warm. They have a jacuzzi outside also. The park like setting was very nice and they even have a rose garden and a very small putting green.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PG_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of our surveys about our hotel when you stayed with us. I am so glad that my staff and the hotel amenities were what you were expecting. I am sorry that you missed our breakfast, but we always have fresh fruit and packaged danish for those on the run and we would have been happy to have set you up with a snack bag. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a wonder stay with a wonderful staff. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Great value, It was a wonderful experience. I was cared for like you would a family member . I would rate my stay as excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was traveling on business and picked Best Western for their consistent reliability on clean, comfortable room and amenities. I like having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. I also liked that despite it being winter they had a covered heated swimming pool. Convenient location but noisy as it was adjacent to major highway! The picture of the spacial green grounds on their website, however, was very much misrepresented in actuality!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The motel was right off the highway but the rooms very quiet. There is a great nicely gardening park where our dog had fun running around. We were here in early January 2014 on our way from Tonopah, Nv to Sonoma. Very friendly place. The gardens are nice even in winter with roses that will be blooming and I believe a bank of camellias. Very clean. Quiet, and the rooms are nice size. Dog friendly. Lots of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmorgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This Motel has been consistently good over the years I have stayed at this Motel for the past 20 plus years, and they continue to update the rooms and bathrooms. Always clean, friendly and welcoming. Convenient to highway grocery store etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
360 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
20.2 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Property: Best Western Golden Key
Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing