We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant over the years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistant over the years”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This Motel has been consistently good over the years I have stayed at this Motel for the past 20 plus years, and they continue to update the rooms and bathrooms. Always clean, friendly and welcoming. Convenient to highway grocery store etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    174
    50
    10
    7
See reviews for
205
150
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hotel pickings were slim in Auburn, but we needed a room there. Went with BW Golden Key, and VERY satisfied with the experience. They made traveling with a pet (my Devon Rex cat, Ferris) easy, and the whole experience very satisfying. Nice room, good breakfast, wonderful staff, and the pool is available year round! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Key on our way to Portland coming from Los Angeles. It was a nice room we enjoyed the breakfast, always a nice hotel amenity since it can save you at least 10 bucks in the morning. The room isn't luxurious, but great for a stopover for the night and the hotel is also right off the freeway which is always good. The place was spotless being a traveler I know the importance of it. I would highly recommend checking the Best Western Site for the booking, because it is cheaper than the other hotel booking websites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Old style motel with a DECENT feel to it. Rooms do not keep much noise out but price is OK. Breakfast was not as good as the chain places at same price point. Staff were very nice.
Things worked in the guest room and furnitre/lighting was good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CWinstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nv
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Perfect place to stay for a visit to the gold country. The staff is friendly, the rooms quiet and comfortable, location is convenient. I always stay at the Golden Key when visiting the Sacramento area or on my way to or from the SF bay area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had car troubles on the I80 which meant that we had to spend an un-planned day in Auburn. The staff here were incredibly helpful, going out of there way to make sure we had a comfortable time. The double queen room was great for our family, they supplies some pet treats for our dog, and let us work in their dining room through the afternoon as the car got fixed.

And their Internet is blazing fast! And free!

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms at the back (170s) were very nice and quiet, and pet-friendly.
See more room tips
Green Features: Energy saving practices, but no impact on the comfort.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Car troubles are always a nuisance but I am glad you were able to enjoy our hotel and that we made you and your family feel welcome while you were stranded. We hope you will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were very impressed with the hotel. It is not fancy but homey, clean and has everything a family could need. The covered pool for winter swimming was a fun bonus. The location is excellent since it is only a short drive into the mountains to play in the snow. Old Town Auburn is filled with historic sites and friendly restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Belmontmom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
1.8 mi away
Power's Mansion Inn
Power's Mansion Inn
#1 of 3 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Property: Best Western Golden Key
Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing