We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Ca, United States
1 review
“5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would reccomend this Best Western for their hospitality. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious.Very quiet and exceptionaly well located between Reno and Sacramento off of highway 80. I would personally give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of these surveys. I am so glad you found our hotel to be the perfect stopover on your trip, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    156
    41
    7
    7
See reviews for
176
129
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice Hotel - Friendly Service - small rooms but the beds are extremely comfortable - not a great deal of parking. Close to restaurants, shopping and other services. Front desk staff very friendly and breakfast area extremely clean and variety of foods for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel and a great place to stay for the money. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was waffles, pastries, fruit, cereal and beverages. The dining area was very clean and pleasant. I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of these surveys and I am so glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Extremely friendly and efficient staff; overall room was clean and the hotel's common areas were well kept! Nice breakfast, pool and spa. Picnic area! Great place to stay if your children are in a soccer tournament!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegate, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

perfect hotel to take my water loving grandson to be alone with for a few days. close to restaurants, bowling, and the river canyon. we had a wonderful 2 days. my grandson spent most of the time hopping from pool to hot tub to bathtub, etc. I was allowed to rest and observe........nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete one of the surveys. I am so glad to read that you and your grandson enjoyed our hotel and pool and I hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is well maintained, with even some updated amenities. The breakfast was very nice and the staff made sure that the dining room stayed clean and stocked with plenty of food. The front desk staff were helpful for out-of-towners to find the way around town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I am so pleased to see that our staff were helpful with directions and suggestions to allow you to enjoy our Auburn Community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great hotel, convenient to the freeway, friendly people. We stayed on our trip going home from California. We were tired out and a bit cranky from way to much traffic in the Bay Area and Marin County. The clerk who checked us in was so nice! It was your standard hotel room, you would expect. Sat in the hot tub for awhile and met lots of friendly people and then slept in a quiet cool room. Breakfast was the typical breakfast, there was lots of attention paid to it to keep it refreshed. We are happy we booked here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of these surveys and I am so glad that you chose our hotel to relax and escape from the hectic traffic and I hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Key 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing