We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We tried the hotel after finding the Holiday Inn was full. We were lucky. The front desk staff were great, yes they did have a room and they gave us the rate including taxes. It includes a buffet breakfast.

The room is clean and nicely furnished/decorated and had all the facilities you need-flat screen TV, microwave, fridge, etc. Bed is comfortable.

Next to highway but we haven't been disturbed by the traffic noise. Several restaurants within 200 yards including Joe Caribe Bistro & Cafe which was excellent.

Lots of colourfull flowers and shrubs around the grounds.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    174
    50
    10
    7
See reviews for
205
150
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The desk clerk was very accommodating and helpful. We had a bad experience the day before at a different Best Western which we explained to her. She stated they had just had a staff meeting regarding the very issue of overuse of chemical cleaning products and offered to open numerous rooms so we would be able to select a room which was best for us. The hotel is older but the rooms are clean, staff remarkable and pleasant with a good restaurant in walking distance. Breakfast is the typical serve yourself kind. The grounds have nice flower gardens which are well maintained. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenient right off Hwy 80 for a ski trip to tahoe. We went on a friday night and stayed there to break our journey. The room given was very clean however there were a few ant like bugs on the beds and behind the wall on the bed which freaked out my kids. Once we removed those bugs then it was fine. Those bugs were there on the bathroom floor also. Other than that the bathroom was also spotless. The amenities were modern and decent sized tv with a good selection of channels. The beds were so so....not too firm mattresses.
The free breakfast was also quite good with hot waffles and cereals and pastries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goin2cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Four years ago when we moved to Auburn, we stayed at this Best Western while the house we had bought was being readied for us to move in. The room and hotel were clean and up to date, and our stay certainly put a smile on our faces. Those taking care of us during our stay were friendly and caring and attentive to our needs which included keeping up with laundry (which is on site) and allowing us to keep our little dog with us. The breakfast that the hotel serves each morning, tho, definitely started my husband's day off right! You see, he is a waffle lover, and he swears they serve the best waffles ANYWHERE! Quite a compliment from a man who has eaten waffles all over the country.

So here we are 4 years later, today is his birthday, and I thought about how he mentions those waffles every time we pass the hotel. Hmmmmm, would the hotel folks help me surprise him with a special birthday breakfast? YES! They were AWESOME making the surprise happen with big smiles on their faces. My dear hubby had BW waffles for his birthday this morning. Thank you, all, for contributing in such a positive way to not only weary travelers, but to the city of Auburn. You are a credit to the hospitality industry!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SierraSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an older motel that has been really well maintained and kept up to date. Rooms are spacious (something newer hotels and motels don't seem to be) and very clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. This is right off of Hwy 80 with several food options within walking distance. We had a room toward the back of the property and had no freeway noise. Bed was very comfortable. Liked the large bathroom with separate vanity area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Best Western Golden Key, Auburn just before our rafting trip which was a great choice as very close to our meeting point.
Lovely, not too big hotel in a lovely area.. quite nice, cozy rooms with very comfortable beds and nice breakfast area. Extremely friendly reception and management who told us thing or two about the area and States overall. We felt like an old friend and would definitely come back. Free parking, Wi-Fi access and good location. Very good value for money..
Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Good place if you plan rafting on Middle Fork American River.. We left all our languages locked in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danek_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here the first night of a 3-day weekend on the way to Tahoe. It is so much less expensive than staying in Tahoe, and offers a quiet, clean, friendly atmosphere. Staff was so friendly and helpful, heater was quiet which is something I always check. We asked for a room on the 2nd floor towards the rear of the hotel, and they saved us the very back room on the 2nd floor for our very late check-in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, as it is on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
1.8 mi away
Power's Mansion Inn
Power's Mansion Inn
#1 of 3 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Property: Best Western Golden Key
Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing