We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff bad value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Golden Key
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff is friendly and the grounds are clean. The rugs are old and disgusting and there are soap dispensers in the shower that are very unsanitary. The pillows are like bags of rocks and my wife and I both had bad head aches from them. They seem to use the cheapest products they can find for the breakfast they serve. The eggs made us very nervous about salmonella and we both got stomach issues from them. That is when we could actually spend the ten minutes getting one open. They need to revamp the whole place. The staff is very good though. Try a different hotel first.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksjillbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

I am very sorry you were not pleased with our hotel when you stayed with us and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience. We are replacing our old carpets as quickly as we can and have just purchased a new Rug Doctor to shampoo all of our rooms on a more regular schedule. The amenities dispensers that we use in our showers eliminate the waste and inconvenience of the smaller individual bottles and are cleaned and refilled daily by the housekeeping staff. We also provide the individual bottles if you would rather not use the dispensers. We hard boil our eggs and sometimes they do go beyond the cooking time and are hard to peel, but it isn't discovered until that egg is peeled, but I assure you we cook them and clean them under the strictest hygiene standards. I appreciate your taking the time to let me know how we might be able to improve and of your concerns and I hope I have explained to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Key
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 582 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We (me, my wife and our adult daughter) stayed here in unit 171 for one night in mid-September. We were in a double queen room where the beds were comfy, the towels white and fluffy and the internet was fast access via a wired connection. We had a memorable stay for all the right reasons - this is a traditional style motel and was clean and comfortable and the staff, particularly Jennifer on the front desk, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast of the usual continental type but was perfectly fine and welcome after a good nights sleep. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the very clean looking pool. The hotel is in a really ez-off, ez-on location right by the Freeway, but we experienced no traffic noise. We recommend staying here for a night or two

Room Tip: Plenty of food outlets nearby, either by foot or a short drive. make sure to visit the historic dow...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The friendly, helpful staff and the many breakfast options earn a Very Good for this basic hotel. We had problems connecting with the internet. Not only did they fix the problem, but deducted $25 from the bill. We could hear parking lot car noise from in our room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This motel is convenient to the freeway. It was very clean and comfortable, with a friendly staff. The price was quite reasonable. Nothing fancy, but we would stay here again. Go for a real breakfast in old town if you have time.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road, but it was far enough away that we didn't hear anything.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pretty standard Best Western with clean room, not large but comfortable. Rates are a steal, pool on site and clean with a average breakfast. Friendly front desk staff can give you some pointers on what to see and where to eat

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maithean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Auburn is a charming, interesting town at the intersection of historic Hiway 49 and busy Interstate 80. In fact, it is two towns—a well preserved old town and an appealing newer downtown. Breakfasts on the weekend are huge with six to eight restaurants, all with their own individual specialties, and all packed with locals, tourists, and commuters. It makes a nice stop, either travelling north/south (on 49) or east/west on 80. The Best Western is clean, functional, and a typical Best Western. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: The back rooms are well-removed from Interestate 80.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pendolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I am so glad you found our town of Auburn as charming as we think it is, and I appreciate your taking the time to write a review for your fellow travelers. I am happy that you found our hotel to be what you expected and hope you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was about 35 minutes away from where I needed to be for business but could not find a place closer due to seasonal and forest fire demands on area lodging. I selected it based on high tripadvisor reviews. I found it to be as others have said - very clean, friendly staff, good breakfast and convenient to restaurants and groceries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at Best Western Golden Key, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I really appreciate your taking the time to write a review about our hotel for your fellow travelers and I am so glad we were able to accommodate you during the recent unexpected local fire emergency. We try to provide the safe and clean environment you deserve and I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
21.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
20.4 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: $96 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Key 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, mini fridge, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool (heated from May-October)and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques. Pets are welcome but must be registered with nominal pet fee. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing