We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange wine policy......”
Review of Carpe Vino

Carpe Vino
Reserve with OpenTable
Carpe Vino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sacramento Street
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Strange wine policy......”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you purchased a glass of wine in the lounge it is typically $8 to $12 per GLASS. The waitress said to buy the bottle, of the SAME wine at $24/bottle, in our case, and you will be way ahead. I mentioned this to Gary but he said that is their policy. Guess they just want to sell wine by the bottle? Let’s see $8 X 4 = $32 versus $24 for the entire bottle…DUH! Check out their website/menu. Food is great but the wine policy is “curious” at best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martind43California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    28
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Best in Auburn”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We tend to go out early so we have never had reservation issues that I have heard from others. We also seem to always go when they are having their prix fixe dinner which has always been excellant. It is a lovely little spot with good service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Wow! about says it all! A fabulous wine bar and restaurant that has been rated one of the regions few 4-star dining establishments, Carpe Vino is the place to go to taste wines by the glass, indulge in gastronomically wonderful appetizers and small plates or dine on an exquisite four-course dinner. Once a month they offer a themed pre-fix dinner - they are to die for! Check out their website: http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely, cozy and delish”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

A father and son run wine shop and restaurant that will impress. Excellent wine selection, with a very nice selection of local wines.

I was with a group of eight and we were all pleased with our meals. I had the short ribs and they were still excellent and I would recommend them.

It's 21 and over, so get a sitter. Totally worth it! Try the back room with it's stone walls and dripping candles.

I can't wait to go back. Reservations highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ariemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Historic Trip”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

First visit. Recommended by a local winemaker. From our initial greeting to our final goodbye and promise to return, the wait staff was at once, extremely gracious and professional. The ambience is definitely wine cellar and conducive to conversation with nearby patrons. The food, selected from a short but appealing menu was superbly prepared and presented. Our short ribs were cooked to perfection and well proportioned. The well-priced wine list was not extensive but contained a broad range of choices, suitable for any palate. The pudding desserts were absolutely terrific. Our hats are off to the chef and the entire staff for a wonderful evening. Groups of up to about 20 can be privately served in a very unique adjacent area. You have to see it to believe it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbirdbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carpe Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing