We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
David's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #79 of 167 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Foresthill, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ribs!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have not been here in a while but a year or so ago we used to get their bbq'ed ribs - they were fantastic! Not cheap for the atmosphere but very good food at that time. Would guess still is if Dave is still cooking!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gary and Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our meal was quite satisfactory. A little on the sweet side , both for the Pad Thai and the Curry. A good value nonetheless!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Welink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fresh Thai Food Made To Order”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Dave is kind of a one man band in the kitchen, although I've seen an assistant at dinner. I've never been there when he hasn't been there. Each order is prepared after you order. Food is always fresh & tasty. Sliding scale of degree of heat, you order to your preference. If you have a large group the dishes come out as they're done. Lunch specials, my Green Curry yesterday was $8.53 including tax. Regular menu is also available with wide variety. A non-adventurous friend likes their BBQ Chicken, BBQ Ribs, or what's been called the "Best Fish & Chips in town". Essy freeway access off I80. A great casual stop !!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EffStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good things come in small stripmalls”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

xlnt food friendly staff. you wont go away hungry or dissatisfied here. authenticly served with spoons!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Some Like it Hotter!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If that sounds like you, then Dave's is the place to be. This is one of the few restaurants where they will actually make the food hot and spicy. There is a published heat scale of 1-10 printed in the menu, but if you ask Dave to make it hotter, he will; all the way to 30.

I am a wimp when it comes to spicy, hovering around a 15, but my husband will go all the way to the top. The waitress, Cathy, says she needs a gas mask to bring my husband his food.

It is a good stopover place for dinner for those who are on the way to Lake Tahoe. Take the Foresthill exit from Interstate 80 an go into the parking lot behind KFC. You will see Dave's place in the back end of the parking lot.

I have heard people say that Dave's is not a restaurant, but a club and the camaraderie of the people who are there proves that point. You will have a good time if you eat here . . . and the food "ain't" so bad either.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maevilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to David's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing