We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Auburn, and I was pleasantly surprises to find such a great Motel 6!!!!!!”
Review of Motel 6 Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Auburn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Gridley, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love Auburn, and I was pleasantly surprises to find such a great Motel 6!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

2011, I began struggling physically with extreme chronic pain. Needing a place to "get away" and Pray, I wasn't sure what to expect (several experiences with Motel 6 have NOT been pleasant), but I love Auburn, & took a chance.
This new motel six was clean, inexpensive and beautiful! I was very happy with my stay COMPLETELY!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanBeckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
18
12
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We entered our room looked around and went to front desk to ask for our money back, of course they said NO! It was dirty, ants all over the counter and bathroom. I've never stayed at a hotel where I didn't want to sit on a toilet!! The shower looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in a while. There was inches of dirt all the way around the room. The drug dealer who stood outside at the back entrance was scary as hell, I was not surprised when 4 K9 unit cops showed up to sniff for drugs. There is a reason why its so cheap! I called the corporate office and filed a complaint.

Room Tip: Instead of giving us our money back they offered us another room... I asked... DO YOU REALLY CLEAN O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Everything else was great. Bathroom was clean, non-smoking room, great location (walk to Ikedas! jog down to the highest bridge in CA, short drive to Ruck-A-Chucky if you are a Western States 100 fan) The motion-sensing of the lights was surprising the first time as was the infrequent but nearby train line but not a big deal to me. I'd give 5 stars if the pool worked (closed for maintenance). It was hot in Auburn and I was jonesing for a swim. Check-in was quick and the desk staff were very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: 1st floor is smoking but you can't smell it on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

My wife and I returned from breakfast on Friday, December 23, and found that our key card would not open our door. After about 45 minutes of back and forth with the clerk, a maintenance man successfully opened our door.

But this was the last straw for us.

The room had a motion-detection light thing so that, if you sat for 10 minutes reading a book, the light went out and you had to reset it.

We'd made a reservation for two adults, and yet there were no bath towels.

And so on.

So, we decided to cancel the second night and go somewhere else. THE CLERK REFUSED TO GIVE US A BILL SHOWING THAT WE WERE CHARGED FOR ONE NIGHT. When I asked to talk to her boss, she said that he was in India. When I asked her to give me whatever bill she could give me, she said that they didn't give bills for rooms that were reserved over the Net.

Please don't go there. Spend the extra $10-$20 and go to the Comfort Inn next door.

In all sincerity,

Kim, Los Angeles

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgwollaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The good: the price was cheap, about $55 for the night, for a family of four. Two double beds, the sheets were clean. The bathroom was clean as well, and the staff was nice during check in. It is pet friendly and had no issues with our dog. It was right off the freeway, so easy access, and there were gas stations close by and a few fast food joints along with a grocery store. We stayed in a room on the end furthest from the freeway and did not hear any road noise. The A/C-heater-fan and tv worked fine.

The bad: no frills. (but what do you expect? it IS a Motel 6!) The beds were doubles, not queens. Made for a tight squeeze, but they were comfortable atleast. The floor.... it was bad! Bad enough I did not want to even walk on it with my socks on, just my shoes. It needed to be replaced.... a shampoo job wouldnt have made a dent.

We never tried the free coffee in the lobby or any other services (if they even had any, which I did not even attempt to find out)

Bottom line... if staying here during a trip as just a place to sleep and only staying one night, it might be worth a look. I would not stay here longer than that.

Room Tip: Use your phone/computer and look on expedia (or other travel site) for a lower rate than the walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erixun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Well I have been staying in this area for quite a while and at this motel a few times. Never a great stay but better than the super 8 up the road (less urine on the walls). Our first room looked as if nothing had been cleaned and smelled like old socks and the tv did not work. after 45 minutes of trying to get another room we suited up to hit the hot tub (the only deciding factor to making up our mind to stay at this place) to find it cold. We then headed to the front desk to see what was going on (note one hour before we had asked how late it was open and if it was working) the guy behind the desk said they had been having trouble with it and the management was not wanting to fix it and to complain in the morning so they would. Lot of good it did us idiots.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retardedtripadvisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here on the way back home after a 10 hour+ day of driving west. Although no room with 2 queen beds was available, the double beds were nice and comfortable, the room was both clean and relatively "fresh", and the Overnight rate couldn't be beat. Altogether a great place to crash if you're not gonna make it all the way to your destination.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGHofSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
13.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Auburn

Property: Motel 6 Auburn
Address: 1819 Auburn Ravine Road, I-80 at Foresthill Road, Auburn, CA 95603-3165
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Auburn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Auburn is located off I-80 at Auburn Ravine Rd/Foresthill Rd. Restaurants are within walking distance. California's vineyards and wineries are within 5 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool and hot tub. Free Wi-Fi throughout the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel 6 Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Auburn Hotel Auburn
Motel Six Auburn
Auburn Motel Six
Auburn Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing