We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Soup” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Thai Restaurant

Royal Thai Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secret Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I asked for my favorite Thai soup (I'm Thai) which wasn't on the menu and the chef made it for me. It was perfect and delicious!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cool, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have been going here since they opened. Love the food and staff. The value is amazing. The Tamarind Shrimp are to die for.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

While staying in Auburn, we decided to give Royal Thai a try. I'm pretty picky, but noted that the Pad-Thai was PERFECT! One warning, the curry is very spicy, but yummy.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mistmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,CA USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were a party of 4 and only one of us had been there before. We were all pleasantly surprised at the wonderful flavor of the food. The service was good and the waitress explained that you could have your food spicy hot or mild. We all ordered rice and it was a lot of rice. Next time I would order 1 bowl of rice for 2 or 3 people. All in all a great experience. I will be going again in May.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillgalAuburn_CAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca, Usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We came away from our experience at Royal Thai very happy. We had found acceptable restaurants in Auburn in the past but never really good like this one. We are used to SF Bay Area Thai food, where we have many choices besides the ordinary. Royal Thai is good enough to compete with Bay Area Thai restaurants. So we give it 5 starts for its category, not for all restaurants you might eat in in the world.

We ate outside on a balmy lovey evening and enjoyed that ambiance. I don't know what it would be like to sit inside. Looked mb a little dark but that might have been because my mood was so much for "outside" to break up our car ride.

The service was as gracious as it could be. The sauce from our pumpkin curry was so fantastic that I had to take it home even though we had eaten all the veggies out of it. Our waitress suggest some ways to use with veggies we might have at home for our next day's meal.

Royal Thai is easy to get to and easy to get back on the freeway.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chabottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing