We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beer and dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auburn Alehouse

Auburn Alehouse
Ranked #3 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Brian & Lisa Ford opened Auburn Alehouse Brewery & Restaurant in 2007 in the iconic Shanghai Restaurant, embracing the building's character and colorful history in the heart of Historic Auburn. While enjoying their full bistro menu, patrons can often see Brian & his brewers making world-class beer in small batches, using only the finest malted barley and American-grown hops. With a collection of prestigious awards hanging on the wall it's easy to see why the SacBee recently said Auburn Alehouse is one of the region's premier craft breweries. Favorites include the Gold Digger IPA (CA State Fair Gold Medal Winner), Gold Country Pilsner (GABF Gold Medal Winner), Hop Donkey (GABF Silver Medal Winner) and PU240 IPA! Lunch and Dinner are served every day, while our Brunch menu is served on Saturday and Sunday from 9am-noon. Don't forget we have a dog friendly patio!
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beer and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

try the deep fried pickles and beer. Bar is loud and the people are friendly. If you are from around the area you will always know someone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank balance21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    116
    36
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pit Stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We discovered this place a couple of months ago, on the way to Reno to visit a childhood friend. Downtown Auburn is charming and parking has been easy. We have stopped for lunch, to and from, several times. This is our go to place. We always sit at the bar and have great conversations with the bar tenders. Fantastic burgers, salads and tacos...so far. As DD, I can only report that the margaritas and beers, the latter is for what this place is known, are delicious. It is our new pit stop on the way to Tahoe and Reno. And before we are back on I-80, we amble up the road to Ikeda for pies! Auburn is a kick!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leapsandbounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
330 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“The Auburn Ale House gets an A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were driving from Lake Tahoe to Sacramento and I just happened to catch a billboard advertising the brewery. Thank heavens it was time for lunch and a beer so we located it. What a find! It is in the heart of old town, and perfect in both atmosphere and ambiance. Great service, outstanding beer, beautifully presented in a round beer serving tray with tulip glasses, and great food! I had the shaved turkey sandwich while my husband enjoyed little neck clams and the kid devoured his hamburger. We were both impressed with the Shanghai Stout and the Spring Fling seasonal. If this place had been closer to where we were staying, we would have came back for a second meal. Make this a stop on your next road trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had an early dinner here on a Saturday evening. We were seated right away and had an excellent waitress. The kids meals were above average and nicely plated. Hubby and I both had the clam chowder (excellent with a little kick) and salads. Fresh ingredients with good dressing. If your going later than us (we were out by 6:30pm) I'd definitely call and get yourself on the list as it was picking up quickly when we left. The bar was packed the whole time we were there. We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Whenever I pass through Auburn, I try to stop at the ale house. Excellent for lunch, snacks, or just a pint of their wonderful beer. In the heart of Old Town Auburn. Love it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auburn Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Auburn Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing