We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Foothills Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foothills Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We had been trying to find a room since Reno but all the chains were booked. We decided to try this place really as a last resort (at 1AM) since with these older places, you just never know what you're going to get. The desk clerk was friendly and quick. We requested non-smoking and received an extremely clean room that was authentic 50s--kind of like your grandmother's cabin. Beds were comfortable with crisp sheets, the bathroom had a great, large, tiled shower and there was a window that could open up to the smell of pine trees behind the motel. The whole place is very well-maintained and charming. Check-out was easy and charges were accurate (half the price of the chains too).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MinneapolisTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
7
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

After seeing the retro signs for the Foothills Motel along Hwy. 80 we decided to give it a try and are glad we did. From the friendly front desk clerk who looked forward to the latest installment of "Bring It On" later that night to the chenille bedspread and the wacky Southwest style pictures hanging on the walls, the place was a hoot. It also was a good value, clean, and charming. We stayed in a non-smoking room near the jacuzzi with a private patio which overlooked a lovely lawn. We really like the layout of the motel - a series of one story buildings with tons of parking and ivy covered walls. There is also a microwave and mini-fridge in each room and free wi-fi. We didn't bring our dogs up this trip, but were glad to learn that the Foothills is pet friendly and allows up to two dogs per room. For travelers wanting a modern and generic hotel, this may not be the place for you. But, for those who appreciate a little retro-Americana for a very reasonable price, this is the place.

  • Liked — Value, jacuzzi and patio.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadsf128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2007

The motel is very outdated, the pillow case was not changed and it still had hair from the previous guest. Also, we were charged for a "missing bath towel" that we never saw. The hotel manager said that according to the housekeeping reports there was evidence that a towel was missing. I wonder if the unchanged dirty pillow case was in the housekeeping report as well

  • Disliked — extra charges without justification
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank calalilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed on a Friday night when we couldn't find a reasonably priced room in Grass Valley or Nevada City. We used the outside spa, visited the bowling alley (but didn't use the coupon), enjoyed the travel literature, maps & weather report. We stayed in one of the 100's rooms, which were upgraded with wi-fi, yet still retained old fashioned, but shiny clean tile showers.
The central heat had not yet been turned on & there were plenty of blankets, but they were kind to loan us an effective portable room heater upon request.
Dined in town at the Latitudes - a great experience as menu changes to a different cuisine each month.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homefreeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

After riding all day on our bikes..we were searching for a campground. Nothing for miles. So, we came upon the FOOTHILLS motel in Auburn. What a great place. The rooms were all very, very clean with up to date decor. The thing I like best was right outside your room was your parking space with each space marked with your room number. No more..hiking a block from your car to your room.

Now, back to 1956...the outside porches are all covered with Ivy..big wide open parking lot and just like I remembered from my childhood...(the ivy, that is). The best thing was there was a small Mexicann Restaurant right next to motel so a quick walk and we were sitting down to a great meal.

Next time in Auburn...stay at the Foothills.

  • Liked — The Ivy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tuna18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

Auburn, CA: Foothills Motel = "Horrible!"
Date: August 11, 2006
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor Member, New Mexico, USA

We stayed in the non-smoking "wing" of the motel. The motel room was acceptable, albeit a little out-dated. We were chilly as the vents were pouring out cold air in the room. After searching the room, we determined that there were not individual thermostats in the rooms. We closed the vent, but still cool air snuck through. We called the front desk, and they flatly replied that there might be a few more blankets available at the front desk --after several other requests from others at the motel. Exhausted from driving, we decided to face the cold and huddle under the thin blanket and "comforter."

However, about an hour after we had drifted asleep, a sharp stench snuck into the room. The intoxicating smell of cigar smoke came pouring up through our vent. It was awful. I had been fighting off a migraine and the smoke revived the siren of pain. We pleaded with the front desk to find the villian smoking in the "non-smoking" wing. The front desk affirmed they would, but we ended up having to pile every book and pillow we could find on top of the vent. The room never aired out, and actually, continued to wreak of "fresh" cigar smoke through out the night. Our only respite was to sleep with the sliding glass door open, which fortuitously, allowed us to smell the musk of skunk nearby. I was very nauseous at this point.

Upon check out, we relayed how our uncomfortable our night was with only 2-3 hours of sleep. At this point, we both had pounding headaches as the cigar smoke continued for many hours into the early morning. The front desk attendant was extremely unforgiving and unenthusiastically replied that "we were in the non-smoking wing." My husband exclaimed that we would likely not consider staying at this motel in the future and the attendant replied, "that's your choice." I, therefore, warn future visitors to avoid this motel if you are sensitive to strong smells or excessive heat/cold. But of course, it is your choice...

  • Liked — greenery
  • Disliked — service and antiquated thermoregulation
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid foothills motel!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luna1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fhmm, Office Manager at Foothills Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2006
The Foothills Motel was built in 1954. It was the first motel on what was then Highway 40, & is now Interstate 80. The owners, managers & employees all take pride in this classic motel & we do our very best to make all those who visit us comfortable. We are by no means a "state of the art" motel. We have two smoking sections and two non-smoking sections. The desk clerks ask our guests if they want a smoking or non-smoking room & we hope that the smokers will be courteous enough to their neighbors by picking a smoking room. We also try to detour our smoking guests from non-smoking rooms by charging a stiff cleaning fee of $50.00 should they smoke in a non-smoking room. The motel has central heat and air, same as in most homes & the temperature is set at a comfortable setting for most people. We offer extra heaters &/or blankets if our guests are too cold. On the flip side, we have extra fans for those who are too warm. Although we do our best to make sure everyone enjoys their stay at our motel I must revert back to the old saying "you can please some of the people some of the time but you can't please all of the people all of the time". I hope that people who read the "Hate it" review will realize this, and understand that there are always two sides to every story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2004

Check-in staff, very helpful.Handed some coupon's for use at property.Room decent sized, bed comfortable.As for my bathroom, standup shower, would've liked more room. Sink has older fixtures but they worked fine.For entertainment "complex" has a bar and bowling alley nearby (short walk).Perfect for easy access to/from Interstate 80. Yes, I'd stay again if rates were comparable to other area properties.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elkabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Rocklin
12.6 mi away
Days Inn Rocklin/Sacramento
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Auburn
Motel 6 Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foothills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Motel

Property: Foothills Motel
Address: 13431 Bowman Rd, Auburn, CA 95603-3199
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1950's, this beautifully landscaped, retro motel will take you back in time, yet provide you with today's modern comforts. Continental breakfast, wireless internet (in select rooms), spa, outdoor pool, on-site bowling center, cable w/HBO, complimentary newspaper, pet friendly (in select rooms), close to shops, restaurants & freeway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foothills Motel Auburn
Foothills Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing