We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped here on the way to Lake Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stopped here on the way to Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Stopped here without a reservation and it was a good deal. Room and property was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. I would stay here again if passing through. Good stopping place between Sacramento and Lake Tahoe.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    21
    20
    20
See reviews for
37
29
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Stayed here for a weekend while doing some early season white water rafting. The place could certainly use some updating but there was nothing so bad that I wouldn't stay here again. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, decent selection of tv channels (although no ppv movies), computer in the lobby and free wired internet access in the rooms.
The minimal continental breakfast was OK and there was plenty of seating. Using any entrance except the lobby required a working room key.
The worst thing was the water temp in the shower kept changing, but at least they had good water pressure. The staff could be more friendly but they were helpful when asked.

  • Liked — The reasonable price
  • Disliked — Needs new carpet in the room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank swbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed here while visiting relatives in July 2004. Contrary to the other reviews, we had a lovely stay. I was travelling with my husbands Grandmother, who is very concerned about safety, and she was also thrilled with the hotel. We are planning another trip this coming August. Our room was clean and well stocked. Nothing to write home about, but certainly adequate for the rate of around $90/night that we paid. We were located on the lower level near the breakfast room. I found the FREE continental breakfast to be quite nice. Nothing elaborate, but certainly better than other hotels I have stayed at. The breakfast room was nicely sized with plenty of seating and clean as well. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool and spa. The area was clean as were the adjacent bathrooms. No towels by the pool.... but staff was more than happy to retrieve extras for us. The location was nice for a family with kids. There was a Denny's conveniently across the street and a grocery store about one block away. This hotel suited it's purpose for us. We felt safe and comfortable for our three nights. Certainly not a resort hotel by any means, but for the price it was great! No complaints here!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyssa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2006

If you have traveled long and hard... dont stay here!!

we checked into our room which seemed fine initially, however approximately 10:30 pm we were awaken by "loud neighbors" Our "neighbors" continued their banging until 2:30 am.

When we complained to the desk staff (after being told that the manager was not on sight and is not expected back that day) we were told that the carpet company was installing carpet in the hallway of our floor and in the room next to us all night.

when we commented about the logistics of allowing carpet to be installed all night long for an establishment that "sells sleep"... They merely stated that there is/was nothing they could do...

we also experienced cigarette butts surrounding the hot tub, mold in the bathrooms and the hot and cold shower fixtures are mixed up in the shower!!

we are still in dispute with them with our credit card company.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2005

The most vile place on the planet. Dangerous, dirty, drunken, smoking teenagers hanging out in the lobby (not hotel guests). Filty, smelly rooms, everything broken and falling apart. Rooms faced a toxic waste dump. Smoking galore in the "non smoking" halls and rooms on the non-smoking floor. Hooligans skateboarding in the parking lot. Not one redeeming feature. Scariest and most repulsive night of my life.
Try the Best Western nearby...although no beauty, it was way better an actually run like a motel!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dancemacabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
20.5 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
23.3 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn

Property: Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Address: 1875 Auburn Ravine Rd, Auburn, CA 95603-3165 (Formerly Aasra Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Auburn
Auburn Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing