We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the $100 we paid to stay one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed June 20, 2011

EW! the shower was PHILTHY! The front desk staff was unfriendly and unprofessional. I am all around certain that I will not stay there again, and would not recommend it to anyone! the bed was comfy and the rest of the room was pretty clean but I showered with moldy walls and some wierd red spots on the shower curtain... creepy to say the least! I could have stayed in a motel six for $40 and gotten the same cleanliness and service. The front desk staff acts as though the guests are a bother, and answers questions very abruptly with bad tone and an attitude that makes you feel like they dont want you there. When I checked out I informed them of the GROSS conditions the shower was in, and didn't even get an appology... they just assured me they would find out who was cleaning it today and make sure they knew that.... wow....

Room Tip: pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffhmrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

I was in comfort inn with my family it was very good trip clean room,breakfast good and front desk friendly all over excellent stay 10 out of 9 1/4

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Wasn't in the room very long during the one night stay, but the room walls were marked with black marks and the odor from the carpet was foul smelling. It's the first Comfort Inn I've stayed at that had a sign asking it's guest to wipe your feet before entering the building. The staff acted as though they "really" wanted to be some other place then at this hotel working, and if waffles are the big thing for breakfast, invest in a new waffle maker. The one at this hotel should have been replaced months ago. I would suggest the management get rid of the "Sunshine Breakfast" reduce the room rates and give out 10% off coupons to Denny's across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woofy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We were comfortable at this Comfort Inn. It has all of the amenities that you would expect. But there could be some improvements: we found a hole in our bedspread, a lamp shade that needed to be replaced, and very thin towels. Breakfast offering are unappealing and unappetizing, but some poeple might like the make-your-own-waffles station. We liked the orange juice (and brought our own hot cereal and fruit). There's a little exercise room. This place is fine...for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeganChela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Nice appearing grounds and building. Our room had nice furnishings and a very comfortable mattress. It was also very quiet....no freeway noise. The breakfast had a good selection. A few of the edges in our room needed vacuuming and the interior hallway looked as though it didn't get a daily vacuuming. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skikingCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

i stayed with my family. it was a good experience. They had nice and friendly staff. Their rooms were clean and the lobby felt like a home.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank bathrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The hallway carpets need to be cleaned as well as the edges of the room we stayed in.
The breakfast room chairs need to be cleaned. The satisfaction guarantee only means they will make you change rooms when you are not happy and no manager is available to contact about problems in the room. Desk staff was nice but they do not have the permission from the owner to take care of anything other than saying I am sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californiafamily4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
179 reviews
13 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Surestay Plus Hotel By Best Western Rocklin
15.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
21.7 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn

Address: 1875 Auburn Ravine Rd, Auburn, CA 95603-3165 (Formerly Aasra Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: $83 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Auburn
Auburn Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing