We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innkeeper with a Heart of Gold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Power's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Words cannot describe the incredible experience we had as a guest (feeling as if it was ours) at Powers Mansion Inn B&B. The history of Auburn was displayed proudly and the rooms beautifully arranged taking us back to another era of refinery. We got to taste the Innkeepers exceptional food and home brew in the very Irish Powers Club. Old town Auburn is within walking distance and is a wonderful destination spot, along with the recreational areas for hiking. We also were close to some amazing wineries and look forward to our next trip back to Powers Mansion (our home away from home).

Room Tip: Each room is very unique, with each one offering a different experience.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Power's Mansion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

what struck us beside the beauty and comfort of the inn was the friendly staff lead by Alfred Lee.
we felt immediately at home.
The free drink and chat with the host and his daughter was great and so was the fantastic home made breakfast.
We were sad leaving and like to recommend this place whole heartily.
"We will be back"

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We did not have the great experience described by others, partly due to the fact that we did not do our own research on the place before making a reservation. We bought a Groupon for a two-night stay, based on the photograph and description in the ad. We subsequently found that first impression very misleading. It shows a beautiful old building, cropped to exclude the context of its surroundings. When we arrived, we did not find PMI set in a "garden" but surrounded by astroturf. It was not located in an area of other fine buildings, but was landlocked by commercial streets featuring real estate offices and a tire service center. And the beautiful appearance in the house in the ad was belied by a facade badly in need of maintenance. The building exterior not only needed paint, there were clear signs of wood rot evident as well, even at the front door. Nothing about our first impressions were positive.

When we arrived, the gate was locked, the lights were out, and no one was there. We called a number on the door and were told that "No one mans the place if there is not a guest in residence...but they would call the guy at the Pub to come and let us in." When we spoke to the guy by phone, he said no one was staying there, and we would be the only guests if we stayed! Rattling around in a huge empty place did not appeal to us. We did not see the interior (which looks better, in photos we subsequently saw). We decided to leave, and sought lodging elsewhere.

I have read other reviews since our experience, and many people did enjoy their stay at PMI. If your heart is set on staying there, I would recommend you book your stay when the place is active and full of guests. Maybe you should arrive after dark, so your primary impressions will be derived from the fine interiors. Also, be aware of PMI's local surroundings. All this would probably make for a better experience. And do NOT expect a refund on your reservation, if you change your mind after seeing the actual property. Unlike the 24-hour cancellation policy of many places, PMI will not refund your money if you cancel less than a full WEEK prior to your stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Luv2Bgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Al and the crew were awesome. The room was great the food was amazing. Definitely reccomend and will return. Lots of perks. Free glass of beer or wine when we got there. Breakfast was homemade and delicious

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iansonelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife & I had a wonderful time at the Power's Mansion Inn. Mr. Lee is a great host, and excellent chef. I highly recommend this place, so much history and they also host an excellent tea party. The mansion also has a Irish pub right next door with a brewery. If you are looking for a place to get married this place has it all. I will definetly go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dom-pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A friend stayed at the Inn via a Groupon reservation, and I visited her before she headed back to Reno after her one-night stay. I saw her beautiful Victorian room and other beautiful rooms within the Inn. Delightful decor! We decided to eat late in the morning at the Inn's Power Club next door. Alfred, the owner of the Inn and Club, made a special breakfast for us and two other visitors of the Inn, with whom we joined at their table. Alfred has such a joyous outlook and spirit! He made a wonderful breakfast, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. We could tell how much he loves doing whatever he's doing--he wears many hats! I felt very welcomed. When I noticed the antique piano nearby, he invited me to play, which I did and enjoyed. The whole experience was a blessed start to a wonderful day! It's so good to see someone who loves their life's work and has many creative ideas! Although I live not too far from the Inn, I would find staying here to be a treat. I definitely look forward sometime to eating another wonderful breakfast at The Power Club! Thank you, Alfred, for your hospitality, and may blessings continue for you and your family and Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Power's Mansion. The Victorian house is a museum in itself. The owner greeted us as we arrived and it was like we entered a friend's home. The room was quaint, cozy, and spacious.

The bed was great, but the breakfast was wonderful. More food than you could ever eat is served in the Power's Pub next door. Tea is served in the parlor on the weekends, but get reservations as it sells out.

We enjoyed the Old Town Auburn and did quite a bit of Christmas shopping. Our next trip here will be in spring or summer so we can visit some of the wineries in the mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teridann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
0.8 mi away
Park Victorian
Park Victorian
#2 of 3 in Auburn
16 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Auburn
Motel 6 Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power's Mansion Inn

Address: 195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603-4223
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: $127 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Power's Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Downtown Auburn, the Power's Mansion is a Victorian Mansion filled with gold country charm and history. Surrounded by fun breweries, pubs, restaurants and pizza parlors, the mansion is a must destination for anyone visiting gold country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Power's Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power`s Mansion Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing