We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth another visit, or two”

Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe
Ranked #13 of 165 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Joe Caribe serves light ethnic food at reasonable prices. Chicken Curry Burritos, Fish Tacos and Pork Mojo Sandwiches are some of the offerings. A nice short beer list includes Chimay on tap.
Mid-Peninsula of the San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely worth another visit, or two”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not sure I would call the food Caribbean food, not like Jamaica, Bahamas, et al. More tropical Mexican.

I had the skirt steak, marinated in garlic and other spices. Very good. I am not much of a fan for creamed spinach normally except in Oysters Rockefeller but Joe Caribe's uses coconut milk in theirs and it is great. My wife had their salmon dinner, also good. We split one of the salad entrees of mixed greens and it was good, not overloaded with dressing.
And th prices were VERY reasonable. We got out for under $70 before tip with my one drink.

Note: They don't have a hard liquor license so my mojito was made using some wine cooler as the base instead of rum. It was still decent although mine was a little heavy on the club soda for my tastes. Definitely worth another visit or two.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherpadad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    62
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We kept hearing that Joe Caribe had these great fish tacos---if you like fish mush.....Very weird blend of flavors and the beans tasted like someone had dumped some powdered herbs into cans of black beans.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaxRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprise! We LIKE carribean quizine. (And great service, too)”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Since we like Mexican food, we hunted for a Mexican restaurant in the area but when one we found had a line out the door we opted for Joe Caribe which was much closer to our hotel. We were in for a great surprise. We liked it. We really liked it. The coconut curry noodles were very flavorful, the curry not too hot and the other spices (including those in other dishes) were not overwhelming and very tasty. Our server was splendid and helped make out party feel welcome genuinely welcome. We had a larger party and they were able to seat us without a wait in an area where very little else was going on. A very good experience over all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccothernII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“More on menu”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place was not too shabby but it could have had more things on the menu.I enjoyed the vegetarian burrito which is huge! It is a unique cuisine which I enjoyed

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kickindajunk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value and good food.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Simply the best fish taco's I've had anywhere and a Curry Tomato Bisque soup to DIE for! Several vegetarian options, gluten free options also, all with generous portion sizes and very reasonable prices. A great selection of beers, some "okay" wines and fun "mocktails" (I don’t think they have hard alcohol but I’m not completely sure about this) Great location right of the freeway with lots of parking and a comfy/casual ambience inside. It’s our “go to place” when meeting friends or just grabbing a beer. Can get busy on the weekends but it’s always been worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dawniegyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing