We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked out well--"vibes" great, loc. turned out OK; near food+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applegate Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applegate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Atwater B&B and Inns
Sacto area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worked out well--"vibes" great, loc. turned out OK; near food+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed one Sat. night, would stay again. Desk clerk gals & the owner/mgr. were great--open, friendly, sense of humor--unbeatable (worried me--why are they so good, nice? Oh, well, just enjoy). We took a room in a back corner and closed it up as a test of soundproofing--RR tracks are not far behind--but found it quiet, no real noise from any source, and the few trains were zero problem, almost unnoticeable, and the crossing is far enough away so that the also-few train horns were no problem. ***Be assured--we HATE sleeping-hours noise, but all was fine. So many places don't work out in that area--see my reviews of Columbus Inn, S.F., and "Drip Drip Drip" of Santa Rosa, for instance.) Pool was in use & no noise/problems from it. TV set good, programming O.K. (I wish the place and all hotels/motels would upgrade to DirecTV). We walked 100-150 ft. to the Denny's and across the street 50 ft. more to a local family-type restaurant--both friendly (again worried me...why is everyone doggone nice!?. Well, memory must have failed me, that must be it).
---
We rank this motel to be an above-average, decent and good place, with an extra plus for the great staff. And great value for the money, $69 as I recall. We wanted to buy the loveseat, too, but that's another matter.)
---
Added info.: A Chevron stn. is about 1/2 block away, 99 freeway is convenient. Atwater city seemed very casual and safe, a welcome and pleasant change from Folsom-Sacramento-area pushy, take-a-chance, fill-every-space, what-me-signal? traffic race.

Room Tip: If ours, in a back corner near the RR tracks & downstairs, was fine, then likely all others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Applegate Inn while visiting family in the area and have found it quite satisfactory. We normally stay in more upscale places but chose the Applegate for its location and have been happy enough with our choice that we have returned many times.

Our rooms have always been clean and adequately supplied. The furnishings are modest but in good taste. A small microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and TV are included. There is a Denny's adjacent and another good restaurant and bar which is popular with the locals across the street. Also a Chevron station and easy freeway access.

Our king bed room was spacious with a settee and a small dining table with two chairs. We paid $75 including tax.

This is not a luxury hotel or resort, but a decent simple motel that gives fair value and should be judged accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the Applegate for 2 nights weekly, from Labor Day 2011 thru mid-March 2012, while working at a nearby school district. This is an adequate, basically quiet motel. A good deal for the money. Yes, a couple of freight trains may chug by during the night but they only last about a minute. Those other reviewers who call it a dump have never stayed at one of those off the track side street motels in Las Vegas. This place is clean and well kept-up. Staff is cordial but not overly sweet. Don't expect a 5-star rating, you won't find a mint on your pillow, but it is certainly fine for an overnight stay. Fast food and large strip mall shopping very close. Small refrigerator and microwave oven in room. The AC/Heater unit was very quiet. Try to get room #108, but not when I need it!! (Tues nites) I'm coming back for another 8 month stint.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

First of all - this is a discount hotel and it is not a Marriott. Keeping that in mind, after reading all the horror stories on this website I was hesitant about booking a room. I only did because I was traveling with other family members and my father-in-law stated that it was not that bad. When I opened the door to my room it was a nice surprise. Room was clean and was not smelly. They even have a microwave and small refrigerator in the rooms. They do have blow dryers as well. I was happy with the service I received and slept well. Yes, it is close to the rail road tracks, but to tell you the truth I was not awakened by it in the morning because I was tired. It was close to my family function and just the right price. I will be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place is a dump. Dirty, smelly, and the front desk person made me feel like I was bothering her. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robbone1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atwater hotels

Willows, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I came for a training class at Atwater, for future employment, a resident of Atwater co-worker, recomended the hotel, I understand that she lives here and the revenue should stay in the city, I did not wanted to complain to the front desk, because the girl at the front desk, was not very friendly, I ask if there was coffee in the room, she did not know, the carpet is dirty the pillows are stained, very old, I am afraid to sleep in the bed, there are patches of caulking all over the ceiling , the fan in the bathroom sounded like it was going to come out of the wall, I decided to call the front desk and complained about the room, she said that she does not check the rooms and she does not own the hotel, she would let the manager know, she said that she gave a good price for the room, $ 64.90, I ask her if that is why I was getting a dirty room, because of that price, she said that is not what she was saying, she does not check the rooms, so she does not know how how the rooms look. I told her that I have worked in a hotel before, and if a guest complained about a room, we would look the condition of the room and move the guest to a more comfortable room. after all the talk she said she would move me to another room, I said I would deal with it for the night, I did not wanted to move my equipment, I could go on in detail, but it does not matter, I will take pictures and post them, I am a logical person and I am sure not all the rooms are like room #208, good luck who ever stays here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willowsfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Cheap...I'll give you that. I'm not going to bore you with cliches. I will tell you that it is adjacent to the railroad tracks and they run all night long. When it's over 100 during the day and not much relief at night, you would expect the air conditioning to work. This one almost caught fire at midnight. My wife woke me up and was frightened. The place smelled of burning wires from the a/c.

My daughter had a kart race the next day. I had to make sure she slept. I appraoched the manager the next morning and was told I should have called him as he would have come out and fixed the unit. At midnight we want to watch a bunch of workman fix the a/c unit?

I told him that I would some kind of credit for the inconvenience. He said he would not charge us for the room. Really? He never reversed the charge and would not return my calls.

The lights are all dim (low wattage bulbs to save money?), the walls are all patched, and to top it off....there was blood on the curtains. I think the man at the front desk was called Norman Bates.

Cough up the extra $20.00 and stay at a hilton, Best Western, or Marriott.Edit - Delete

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atwater
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
6.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
9.1 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn
#11 of 14 in Merced
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
20.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Orchard Inn
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegate Inn

Property: Applegate Inn
Address: 1501 Sycamore Ave, Atwater, CA 95301
Location: United States > California > Atwater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Applegate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing