We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice change...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cowgirl Cafe

Cowgirl Cafe
Ranked #20 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shelby, Montana
Level Contributor
332 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A nice change...”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had driven by over a year and then decided to try it out. Very glad I did. It started with the waitress...Charlie...polite well informed...and helpful. The food is based around the breakfast meals but I had the super turkey sandwich. What a mouth full. Go taste and a real good portion. The price was also very nice.The eating area is very spacious and you feel like you have been there many times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What happened to this restaurant?”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A few years ago, this was an excellent destination for breakfast or lunch, despite the countless, picky rules enacted by the management. Yes, it was that good. When we visited their new location after the move, nothing was any better than mediocre, and much was substandard. I ordered toast, and the waitress dropped off warm bread in front of me and walked away. All of the atmosphere and quality of Denny's with much higher prices. Drive past this one.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cute little cafe”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had breakfast with daughters, nice food selection, reasonable prices, quaint little cafe with cute decor. Place that locals go. Reccomend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great down home cooking”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food & service were both excellent. If you are hungry for just plain American down home food, this is YOUR place. Went there twice - great service each time and (again) awesome food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Location, The Food is Even Better”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Cowgirl Cafe has moved from their old location to a strip mall, further south and on the other side of El Camino Real. The new place might have just a touch less of the old "spirit," but there are still a lot of familiar faces among the servers, and the food is even better. The ham, biscuits & gravy with home fries and 2 eggs gives me enough energy to get me through the rest of the day. I always stop here when I'm in Atascadero. You should, too

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowgirl Cafe also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cowgirl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing