We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Atascadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Atascadero
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
California
1 review
“Very decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

If you need a room, this place is clean, quiet, and safe. The location is great, just off 101. We had a pleasant stay.

If you're expecting any amenities: shampoo, a fridge, even a pen & notepad, you should probably stay somewhere else, the room is pretty bare except for the cable TV.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spazad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    20
    8
    12
See reviews for
11
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We booked Motel 6 Atascadero for a mere sum of $45 for one night, so we weren't expecting anything brilliant. We were allowed to check in early and there was plenty of parking available, just make sure you dodge the cats, dogs, animal waste and questionable looking humans toting suspiciously bottle-shaped paper bags. The service at front desk was polite and efficient, but the creep factor was high. He certainly was not looking at my face. The creep factor was so high in fact that I checked for hidden cameras in the bathroom when we got to the room. The room was clean and had all the necessities. But the blankets had cigarette burns and a couple of the towels smelt somewhat like stale coffee. At least I hope it was coffee. The location was good, right off the 101.
But, this being said, if you want a cheap place to stay and aren't too worried about the luxuries, this Motel 6 was more than adequate.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoiledAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at the motel 6 in Atascadero. The personal was very friendly and helpful especially BOB. He worked the night shift, very friendly and treated my husband and myself with the upmost respect! My husband had just gotten out of the hospital, Bob went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. The motel is not fancy, rooms are small, but comfortable and very clean. I would recommend this Motel to anyone that wants a comfortable, non expensive motel to stay. It is located close enough to Morro Bay and Pismo Beach so that the drive wont tire you. We will diffently be back! Our Thank you to the management and house cleaning crew. You made our vacation great!

Brian and Terri Kenner
Clovis, California

  • Liked — The friendly Staff, very comfortable, location
  • Disliked — cant think of a single thing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keshaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

Motel 6 in Paso Robles gave my reserved room away. They sent me 10 miles South to Atascadero. Paid for room and then male employee advised there was no parking. Refused to give my money back and threatened to tow my car if I parked in handicap spot directly in front of the room. Room was filthy, sheets were dirty, wrinkled, stained and smelled like someone or something had died. Sink, toilet and shower were black and had hair in them. One towel, no washcloth. Laid car blanket on bed and rested for 3 hours. I threw the car blanket away afterward because I was concerned about bacteria.

By the way, I had to park on the highway, far from the hotel. The male employee would not allow me to pull up to the room to unload suitcases.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filthy room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelinggrammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atascadero hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

This place is okay if you just need a place to sleep for the night, but if you are intending to stay for more than a few days I would defintely go somewhere else. My room had fleas, which is not surprising since dogs are allowed here. There were interesting characters loitering by the pool at all hours, gawking and hooting at my friends and I as we walked to our room. If you are a woman, ask to be in a room on the other side of the hotel from the pool. Loiterers could also be quite noisy until the wee hours of the morning.

In all, it's fine if you aren't bothered by noise and the substandard cleaning of a Motel 6.

  • Liked — Um, it did have a bed...
  • Disliked — Noise, gawkers at the pool, fleas, rude front desk personnel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank janders36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

A pretty standard Motel 6...small unheated pool, lots of kids. I guess all of the rooms nationwide are being remodeled, which means that they're clean but smell like carpet glue. The bedspreads are really colorful and ugly, but if you just plan to turn off the lights and sleep, it's not so bad. There's no tub, just a shower, which just kind of rains down of you, so if you have a hair-do that you don't like to get wet everytime you shower, be careful. There's no much of anything within walking distance, but this is a very economical and clean place to go if you're just in town & need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RomyJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#2 of 7 in Atascadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
12.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
12.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atascadero

Property: Motel 6 Atascadero
Address: 9400 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-5514
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atascadero 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Atascadero
Atascadero Motel 6
Atascadero Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing