We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for a night or longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I checked in without a reservation. The person at the counter was assisting someone on the phone. At that point I was completely impressed. She was considerate, patient, and completely professional with the person on the phone. It is little moments like that you have to consider that the management is doing everything right with their people. Everything about the stay was well wonderful. The room was clean, well appointed, and very quiet. I had a nice drive on HWY-101, but I had a better time at this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jln779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are so please you had such a great time at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are glad you stopped in, and we hope you can visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 511 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We're frequent visitors to the Paso Robles wine country, and usually stay at the BW in Paso. But they hiked their rates by about 33% from the last time we were here, so we booked at the Colony Inn in Atascadero, another corner of that wine region. We'll be back!
The Colony is clean and super comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful, Breakfast was included, and was quite good, with eggs and bacon and a waffle maker along with the usual continental fare. Rooms each had microwave and refrigerator. The only drawback is the lack of a nice restaurant in walking distance (we don't drive after a day of wine tasting), but there are several spots that deliver, including one seafood place we didn't have time to try.
Good location, comfortable rooms, friendly staff..what's not to love?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentheEnchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. I do hope that you will return and stay with us again!

Kind Regards,

Robin Ewing
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stopper over for one night while driving to Los Angeles from San Francisco. The front desk was polite, helpful.
Rooms were clean, comfortable and huge. Breakfast was great. Overall, the prices were more than reasonable. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burnout1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am very happy to hear how enjoyable your stay was! I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Robin Ewing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Front desk service was always helpful and friendly. The staff took the time and care to help me in whatever capacity they could. From helping me find a local eatery to a quick change of sheets after a little wine mishap to being flexible with my arrival and departure dates. Not once did I experience any compromise of service. I will not hesitate to book here while working in the area. In fact I look forward to it.

Room Tip: I was in the executive suite, which was near the entrance to the top floor. Sometimes it got drafty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments! It was such a pleasure having you as a guest. We do hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely Your Best Western Team,

Robin Ewing
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked just for one night as a stopover on our journey along Highway 1 up to San Francisco but what a lovely hotel. Friendly staff, nice large, clean room, excellent wi-fi, large, clean outdoor pool with sun loungers and and to top it all off an excellent breakfast buffet with very good coffee! (that’s very important in our family!). Small niggle - the beds cracked a wee bit.
Good value for money and well worth the slight detour off Highway 1 to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blossom_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I will look into the squeaky bed issue, and I am sorry for the inconvenience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

worst customer service,manager treat us like a criminal for an honest mistake of bringing a teacup chihuahua!obnoxious,rude and racist!ive been a customer of best western and was treated like an animal!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank sheilah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtasBestWestern, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sheilah,

Our pet policy is clearly stated. It is posted on our home page of the reservation site. It is posted in our lobby. All guests checking into the hotel verify they do not have a pet staying in the hotel room, done so by checking a box on the registration card. Your registration card shows that you checked the box indicating you did not have an animal that you would be taking into your hotel room.

I am sorry you felt our staff member was rude. She was merely displaying a firm tone since we had two different customers from surrounding rooms complaint of a dog barking coming from your hotel room. Our preference would have been honest; admitting the dog was brought into the hotel.

Please understand, we love animals too. However a majority of our guests report they are unable to occupy rooms after animals have been in the room due to allergies. The cost to clean a room after an animal departs is high. We would prefer not to pass that cost onto our guests, thus keeping our lodging rates reasonable for our guests.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Was driving back to So. Cal after the holidays and decide to stop at a hotel. Looked quickly online reviews for a clean but affordable place. This Atascadero location price was way less then Paso Robles and San luis obispo. Ended up stopping at midnight night. The front counter lady was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and even has a simple and clean look to them. WE got two queens for my family of 4. WE all sleep very well and it was quiet. They have free breakfast in the morning which was a pretty good breakfast. ....eggs, waffles, sauasage, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, bagel, toast, yogurt, juice, milk, coffee. The hard boiled eggs were kinda gross, so i just threw out. They had more then the usual "free breakfast" at the hotels i've been to. Definitely was worth the stop, feel refreshed, clean and feed...ready for driving the rest of the trip home! Thank you best western!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are so happy we could provided a comfortable clean experience for you and your family. We do hope that you will come back to see us again!

Kind Regards,

Robin Ewing
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#2 of 7 in Atascadero
438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
935 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Colony Inn

Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range: $86 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing