We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Front desk service was always helpful and friendly. The staff took the time and care to help me in whatever capacity they could. From helping me find a local eatery to a quick change of sheets after a little wine mishap to being flexible with my arrival and departure dates. Not once did I experience any compromise of service. I will not hesitate to book here while working in the area. In fact I look forward to it.

Room Tip: I was in the executive suite, which was near the entrance to the top floor. Sometimes it got drafty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! It was such a pleasure having you as a guest. We do hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely Your Best Western Team,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    177
    49
    21
    7
See reviews for
161
137
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked just for one night as a stopover on our journey along Highway 1 up to San Francisco but what a lovely hotel. Friendly staff, nice large, clean room, excellent wi-fi, large, clean outdoor pool with sun loungers and and to top it all off an excellent breakfast buffet with very good coffee! (that’s very important in our family!). Small niggle - the beds cracked a wee bit.
Good value for money and well worth the slight detour off Highway 1 to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blossom_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I will look into the squeaky bed issue, and I am sorry for the inconvenience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

worst customer service,manager treat us like a criminal for an honest mistake of bringing a teacup chihuahua!obnoxious,rude and racist!ive been a customer of best western and was treated like an animal!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtasBestWestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sheilah,

Our pet policy is clearly stated. It is posted on our home page of the reservation site. It is posted in our lobby. All guests checking into the hotel verify they do not have a pet staying in the hotel room, done so by checking a box on the registration card. Your registration card shows that you checked the box indicating you did not have an animal that you would be taking into your hotel room.

I am sorry you felt our staff member was rude. She was merely displaying a firm tone since we had two different customers from surrounding rooms complaint of a dog barking coming from your hotel room. Our preference would have been honest; admitting the dog was brought into the hotel.

Please understand, we love animals too. However a majority of our guests report they are unable to occupy rooms after animals have been in the room due to allergies. The cost to clean a room after an animal departs is high. We would prefer not to pass that cost onto our guests, thus keeping our lodging rates reasonable for our guests.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Was driving back to So. Cal after the holidays and decide to stop at a hotel. Looked quickly online reviews for a clean but affordable place. This Atascadero location price was way less then Paso Robles and San luis obispo. Ended up stopping at midnight night. The front counter lady was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and even has a simple and clean look to them. WE got two queens for my family of 4. WE all sleep very well and it was quiet. They have free breakfast in the morning which was a pretty good breakfast. ....eggs, waffles, sauasage, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, bagel, toast, yogurt, juice, milk, coffee. The hard boiled eggs were kinda gross, so i just threw out. They had more then the usual "free breakfast" at the hotels i've been to. Definitely was worth the stop, feel refreshed, clean and feed...ready for driving the rest of the trip home! Thank you best western!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are so happy we could provided a comfortable clean experience for you and your family. We do hope that you will come back to see us again!

Kind Regards,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG BEACH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very clean rooms, good breakfast. Great location. I loved it, I will stay here every time I come in this area. The staff was awesome, very nice and friendly. The staff had a very welcoming attitude. I cant wait to stay here next time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank JENNIFER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much! We look forward to serving you again, and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate you!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Better than expected, close to Paso Robles with much more reasonable prices.
Nice included breakfast. Large pool area with tables umbrellas and chairs, great place to sit out in the afternoon and visit. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and for taking the time to express them. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do hope that you can return to see us again. Happy Holidays to you and yours!!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Upgraded to Executive King Room because I thought the room would be larger, it was but the room is really for handicap room. No place to sit except a corner chair and a desk. From the bed you can see the back of the microwave. Not happy with location either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so sorry you didn't like your upgrade and the location of our hotel.
We have several room types that are executive rooms and they are all different, but your room was the only room with a separating partition and ADA shower. I hope you give us an opportunity to serve you. Thank you for your comments, and we will consider them the next time we upgrade someone to that room.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
6.1 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-2554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Our hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing