We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for area clean rooms nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good price for area clean rooms nice staff”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Better than expected, close to Paso Robles with much more reasonable prices.
Nice included breakfast. Large pool area with tables umbrellas and chairs, great place to sit out in the afternoon and visit. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and for taking the time to express them. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do hope that you can return to see us again. Happy Holidays to you and yours!!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    182
    52
    21
    8
See reviews for
174
147
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Bay
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Upgraded to Executive King Room because I thought the room would be larger, it was but the room is really for handicap room. No place to sit except a corner chair and a desk. From the bed you can see the back of the microwave. Not happy with location either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so sorry you didn't like your upgrade and the location of our hotel.
We have several room types that are executive rooms and they are all different, but your room was the only room with a separating partition and ADA shower. I hope you give us an opportunity to serve you. Thank you for your comments, and we will consider them the next time we upgrade someone to that room.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spacious room, friendly employees, free wifi, nice location. Breakfast was very good with waffles, cold and hot cereal, eggs sausage, yogurt, donuts, etc.
Did not use the pool, jacuzzi or work out room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am so thankful you took the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad you were so pleased with our hotel. If there is anything that we can do better for you in the future, please let us know. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this Best Western. I've had other good experiences at Best Westerns along the California coast before, and this hotels exceeded my expectations, as well. My room was modern, very large, and extremely clean. It's well located near the freeway and Paso Robles is also just a few miles away! I would definitely stay here again... hassle free, safe and comfortable! Great job to the staff that keeps this place so nice.

Room Tip: Ask for an oversized room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corycory19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to comment on your stay with us! Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much! We do hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff was extremely kind. We received excellent chocolate cookies on our arrival. The room was huge and comfortable. Breakfast included the possibility of cooking waffles, which we really enjoyed. The location was perfect to visit Atascadero and Paso Robles. The nature and surroundings were impressive. I would definetely recommend this place to anyone visiting the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giudi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated! We do hope that you will return to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a good place, plain and simple; a reasonably-priced place to rest your head after a hard day(!) of wine tasting.
I paid $90 a night for two nights which - while more expensive than the Motel 6s in any given direction - is still a good deal.
This doesn't seem like a "budget" motel at all: There is a decent breakfast included, the rooms were comfortable, the A/C ran like a champ, and you have access to a very well-equipped fitness center next door...for free. For a workout freak like me, this was awesome. Also, the bedding was especially plush.
The service was great. When I checked in, I wasn't real impressed: I got two bottles of lotion but no shampoo. And there was a pretty big hair left by a previous guest on the tub sill. I called the front desk and told her about it - more that I needed shampoo - but did report my unwelcome "guest" in the bathtub.
Now, this is where this place becomes great: The desk clerk first offered to move me to a different room; when I declined, she sprinted to my room with a warm chocolate chip cookie, a bottle of water, and several bottles of shampoo. She offered to CLEAN the bathroom for me, but I declined. I did sheepishly show her the hair, to which she got wide-eyed, grabbed some toilet paper, swiped it up, and apologized again. I was really impressed.
Now, if all you are going to gather from this review that one hair made it past the cleaning staff, you are missing the point: accidents happen. But this woman - evening desk clerk with blonde hair and glasses - swooped in and made it right. Trust me: You are NOT going to get this kind of service at many hotels no matter what the price point is.
Kudos, Best Western Atascadero: I will see you on my next visit. You have definitely earned my hard-earned tourist dollars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabbagehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Reading your review brought a tear to my eye. I am so very pleased my staff was so courteous and helpul. I am very truly sorry for the inconveniences you did experience. Thank you so very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. Without your feedback, we wouldn't know how to make our guests experience superior!

We hope that you will visit us again in the very near furture.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you're wanting to do a combination Santa Ynez wine country/Monterey coastal weekend, BW Colony Inn is a perfect stayover. As a "plus" BW property, The Colony Inn fulfills all the BW Plus criteria: quality beds/bed linens, high standard of cleanliness, well-appointed rooms with tasteful decor and attractive grounds (modest landscaping in this case but with beautiful native plants).
The staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful; a freshly baked cookie at check-in and as a platinum BW member we were given bottled water and a little bag of trail mix (a nice touch, especially for travelers on a road trip :) The entire property was very peaceful--even the pool and jacuzzi areas were mellow: in good use with several adults and one family but the general calm of the property seemed to carry over to the way guests behaved--laughter but quiet voices. Terrific hot and cold complimentary breakfast buffet (a good range of cereals, pastries, waffles, scrambled eggs and both bacon and sausage--I'm not a breakfast meat person myself but others seemed to really appreciate this--and juices, yogurts, etc). Instead of a small fitness room onsite, the Colony Inn offers guest passes to an outstanding gym next door: very short walk, convenient and easy, and its a full-range gym with great equipment (everything!) and an olympic-size pool. Our whole stay (late afternoon-mid-morning) was relaxed and almost like staying at a spa but for a very reasonable price: perfect way to catch up after wine tasting and we left refreshed and ready for our day in Monterey. Atascadero also has a small but interesting downtown and we had a fabulous dinner at Colby Jack restaurant in the historic Carleton Hotel. Lovely overall and I will be back!

Room Tip: If you're interested in using the hotel pool/patio area, you can/should get a downstairs room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spasungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. You have genuinely captured the essence of our hotel and staff. I will pass along your lovely comments to everyone. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
414 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
881 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
673 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Colony Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing