We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a comfortable stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Like the title says, everything you need for a comfortable stay. The rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, comfortable beds, efficient bathrooms, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, etc.
It is in a location that is convenient to downtown Atascadero and all that it provides.
The hotel wraps around the pool area. The pool and spa are the proper temperature for beating the heat, and the heat was on during my visit, over 100 degrees during the day. I did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast which is served from 6 to 9 AM. The beds were so comfortable, and the curtains blocked out the sunlight so effectively that I slept through breakfast both mornings. They also have access to a full health club that is adjacent to the hotel. Just leave an ID at the front desk, and you're good to go. This place is a very good value and I will be back on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely compliments. We are so happy you enjoyed everything!! And thank you for making the time to comment on your stay. If there is anything we can do for you in your next stay, just let us know. We look forward to your next visit!

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    182
    52
    21
    8
See reviews for
174
147
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is ideal for a stopover as it is 5 minutes from highway 101 - it provides nice clean and comfortable rooms for a very reasonable price. We stayed for 2 nights towards the end of a touring holiday and found it a very relaxing place to stay. The hotel has a small pool with extremely comfortable chairs to relax on (chairs are not usually comment worthy but when I mentioned this to the receptionist she said I was the second person to tell her that that day!). Having a nice place outside to sit and relax was a real plus for us - pushed the rating upto a 5 as that time relaxing enhanced our stay so much.
Breakfast was the usual motel fare - but with the addition of omelettes, sausages and watermelon.
If you are interested in wine tasting there are a lot of vineyards to visit nearby.
There were a few places to eat in Atascadero - a short drive away. We had a delicious lunch at the Fig cafe - but it is only open some evenings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are so glad you had such a wonderful time!! We do hope that you will get the opportunity to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel was clean, breakfast was great with lots of choices. Pool area is nice. People who worked there were nice and helpful. We got a room with a king sized bed and felt it was a little small. Overall, good hotel for the low price. It is also located right off the 101, with convenient freeway access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am glad you had a nice time with us. We do have oversized rooms available, which are very spacious. I do hope you will get an opportunity to stay with us again and hopefully get to try our spacious rooms.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel was under construction in the pool area, but we could still use everything. The pool area is nice It was a nice location and the room was nice. The breakfast was great. I was there visiting my kids. They came over and used the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroneeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again soon!

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

In the area for wine tasting the following day. We had room 203, which is "first floor" when you walk into the front. Staff was friendly and nice. Huge room with 2 beds, a full sized couch, a really big flat screen, a desk, a 4 foot tall fridge, micro, coffee pot. HUGE nice shower with cool mid-level sprayers in addition to nice HOT water & great water pressure. Free internet is FAST, actually the fastest I have ever been on at a hotel for free!

As everyone says, it includes breakfast. The usual spread, a waffle maker, donuts, cereal, fruit, instant oatmeal, plus hard boiled eggs AND hot eggs and sausage, and the coffee was actually decent with various creamer flavors. It doesn't aim to be gourmet, but it exceeded what I would have expected as included with the price we paid.

I like hard mattresses, so I was really comfortable. Our air conditioner worked fine. Quiet room, good window insulation, as when we cracked it just slightly I was surprised at how much more I could hear parking lot and road noise. Keep it closed and it's quiet.

The pool area is pretty and clean with a simple pool and hot tub. Nice cushioned pool lounge chairs if you plan to spend some pool time.

Room Tip: If you want space to spread out, for a little upgrade in price, get this "large room", don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPhotoWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do hope that you will get to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The staff at this property were very helpful on a recent holiday trip. Late night check in was no problem. We got upgraded to a suite when we'd reserved a room. Breakfast next morning was great and the check out process was quick, accurate and efficient. Only negatives were that the pillows were too soft and the air conditioning unit wasn't strong enough to adequately cool the suite.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am very sorry abut the air conditioner. I will have all of them checked right away, and I will see if we can get some firmer pillows in stock for guest who prefer them.

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will return to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita Ca
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The stay was nice. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was acceptable. Nothing out of the ordinary. The bed on the other hand could have been much more comfortable. Hard. Could only sleep on it for one night. Very clean rooms. Nicely decorated. Other than the bed everything was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMae1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#1 of 7 in Atascadero
413 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
879 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
672 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Colony Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero, CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. Hotel guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, The Tamale Festival, Paso Robles Wine Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing