We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Incompetent Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally Incompetent Management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

My husband and I intended to stay at the Carlton because it seemed to be a charming and elegant hotel, reasonably priced, in the Paso Robles wine region. After booking one night and being billed immediately on my credit card, I read additional reviews from folks who had had bad experiences with the way the hotel is managed. We decided to stay in Cambria instead and I cancelled our reservation on-line and asked for a confirmation. After more than 2 weeks, I had heard nothing, so I called them and they said they had no record of the cancellation but that they would cancel it immediately and send me a notice via e-mail. This they did. What they did not do was reverse the charge on my credit card. Another e-mail later and they have promised to do this. Now that we have returned from our trip (another 3 weeks later), I have received an e-mail from the manager thanking me for staying with them! All the charm in the world cannot make up for mismanagement, so I say to anyone contemplating staying here: do so only if you don't mind incompetence.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    98
    15
    12
    17
See reviews for
68
180
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

We planned a weekend getaway and planned on doing some wine tasting. The Carlton was very close to most wineries and the price of the room was a big deciding factor. The hotel staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable. The room was very nice and we had a great patio off of our room. The restaurant and grill was fabulous!! If Chauncey was your waiter and Tim was your chef you would have a dining experience to be remembered!! Great live entertainment on the weekend, The only downside to the entire experience was the parking accomodations but we felt that was a small price to pay for a fabulous QUIET weekend. The bakery off the hotel entry was a great place for breakfast too. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

The hotel was built in 1928 and has been restored beautifully. Its like a trip back in time with all the modern amenities. The room we stayed in was really large, with super comfy beds with down comforters. There was a shower and a spa tub that worked great. Really classy place, with the feel of a 5 star hotel for the price of a 3 star hotel. Great value. Everyone was super helpful. Service in the restaurant was a bit slow, but only because they were soo buys (Easter weekend). The food was good. The bar has live musice at night and is lively with friendly people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susq2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Visited your cocktail lounge last evening, 1/2 of of your employees looked deshovled, shirts unpressed and unkept. Wine glasses were dirty, when it was brought to the waitresses attention she took the glass away, brought back what appeared to be the same glass smudged lipstick on it and she said "I just polished off the water spots".
Had to ask for napkins, straws, and flatware
Atmosphere was great, too bad the service did not compliment it.
This the 4th time I have visited this Carlton its not a place I would go back to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

I booked this hotel for my husband and I for Valentine's Day. As soon as we arrived we were treated like a royal couple. We arrived earlier than the 4pm checkin and to our surprise were able to check in. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We ate in the hotel resturant for dinner and even though they were slow (due to the holiday) it was fantastic. Everyone that we encountered was very nice and respectful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralCoastNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoxabc
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

Very well decorated rooms, comfortable beds and baths. However, completely disfunctional management. We were here two nights and the following happened: 1. Bakery/Cafe was closed. 2. Restuarant advertised as serving breakfast did not serve breakfast. 3. The front desk told us there was no turn down service but, an hour later a woman came to the door with their regular turn down service, 4. The advertised business office was not open. So, we tried printing our boarding passes from the front desk but, their printer didn't work. 5. The restaurant was out of many food items and the sushi bar was closed. 6. The front desk said we could have a late check out and called back later and revoked it - did give us a one hour extension. Then, called the next day at check out time and asked why we hadn't checked out. 7. Afternoon tea was advertised in the hotel brochure but, hasn't been offered for a long time. 8. They also advertised 24 hr room service but, no menus were in the room. Nice people but, totally disorganized, untrained and the right hand didn't know what the left hand was doing. Disfunctional! Too bad because a beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — great, cofortable rooms
  • Disliked — totally disorganized
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Havenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

The Carlton is a lovely hotel with large rooms and an impressive marble bath. It adjoins an excellent bakery and has a good restaurant. We were pleased by the whirlpool tub and bottle of wine (for sale) in our room. We were less pleased that we found the exact same wine to be $2 less in the restaurant than in the rooom. We were also unhappy to find that not only did we have two burned out bulbs, but the hotel was unable to fix them until after we were to check out. The receptionist at the hotel did not help matters when we mentioned the $2 difference in the wine prices and were not offered a credit, but were rather apathetically told she'd mention it to her manager. Please note, the $2 is irrelevant - it was more the principle of the discrepancy and the service that accompanied our pointing it out. All that said, we would stay at the Carlton again. And we would definitely eat at Artisan in Paso Robles - we have eaten at Michelin starred restaurants and rarely have had such a wonderful experience in both food and service.

  • Liked — Large room, nice linens and room decor
  • Disliked — Burned out lightbulbs and indifferent desk staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovehuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing