We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Alternative for an Overnight Visit”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for a night after a visit to Hearst Castle. After checking out hotels in Paso Robles, I read reviews of the Carlton on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a shot. The hotel was about 45 minutes from Hearst Castle, but an easy drive with no traffic. The price for a nice room was much less than the cost for the better hotels in Paso Robles. The hotel is really more of an Inn than a hotel. There is no bellman or anyone to help with your bags or your car. You are greeted by a lone person at the front desk and the hotel doesn't have a restaurant or typical amenities that you would associate with most large hotels. However, the room was very spacious, updated and clean. The bathroom was large, modern with granite and had a nice shower and tub. The beds were very comfortable with good linens and there was plenty of room for all 4 of us for a night. The hotel has free parking in a lot across the street and we were only about 12 minutes from Paso Robles, where we had a lovely dinner at Thomas Hill Organics, and a great breakfast the next day. We didn't understand the resort fee, as there didn't seem to be any resort amenities on the premises. However, if you are looking for a nice, quant, reasonably priced, modern hotel for a night, close to Paso Robles and not far from Hearst Castle and Cambria, this is a good alternative. . .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sdbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for The Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during a side road trip up the coast. The hotel has a great classic feeling to it and were prompt to give us our room. There is parking across the street and free wifi. Our room was very cozy and had a nice bed. My favorite part was the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and you better believe I took a bath that night! Although it says this hotel is in Atascadero, it is an extremely close ride to a ton of wineries and Firestone Walker. We only stayed one night but would love to spend more time in this region and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MariaLanei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were only in Atascadero for one night and rather than stay in a chain hotel, this place caught my eye. Am I glad it did! What a lovely and grand hotel in a convenient location. Upon check-in a tour bus had arrived just before us (an unusual event, I am told). When I noticed that my room was next to all the tourists, the front desk staff immediately switched me to another room across the hotel where it would be quieter without me even asking her to do so! I really appreciated that and the room we were given was extremely quiet and restful. We choose to stay in the balcony king, which has a view of the interior courtyard. The courtyard view was pleasant and no noise emanated from the patio -- at least not on a Sunday evening. Our room was simple, but tastefully decorated. The two best parts were the large bathroom with sanijet bathtub and large separate shower and the exquisitely comfortable bed and linens. Honestly, we really hated to leave after only one night. Parking is either in the public lot behind the hotel or across the street. We parked behind the hotel. The only thing I didn't understand was the $15 "resort fee" charged as I did not see the value in it for the customer -- it just seemed like a way to tack on an extra charge. That being said, even with the "resort fee" the room was an excellent value. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony king with interior view is an excellent choice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Overall a exquisite hotel!! It has an old "Victorian" feel to it mixed with Hollywood at the same time! The hotel staff is super friendly and so very helpful!! Plenty of room with a view of the balcony! The beds were so comfortable and definitely high quality with pressed sheets that feel so good when you get into them! The bathroom was spotless and they even cleaned the glass shower daily! We consider it one of the best values for a hotel room from a well traveled person's POV. My brother said it was the best hotel room he ever stayed at.(:

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShamanGirl929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staying at this hotel was quite an experience. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable beds. The public rooms were very well decorated - full of charm and history. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed, so we had to go out for food. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

When you are up wine tasting, biking, coming back from the coast or whatever, the Carlton is a delightful taste of long-ago elegance. Service is excellent, rooms are comfortable, if a little cramped, and there is an excellent in house restaurant and bar. Not only that....it's just up the street from Sylvester's - most excellent burgers and breakfasts!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Even in the standard room, one had the sense of "old Hollywood" with the beautiful period reproduction furniture & upscale fabrics. Well designed built-in cupboard for the coffee maker along with china cups, a very comfortable bed and a hanging tapestry added much to the ambiance. BUT, my favorite amenity was the fabulous marble tiled bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower, large vanity, pocket doors to separate toilet room, more built-in shelves for towels - it was just heavenly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneandwalter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range: $131 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing