We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 Atascadero(Atascadero)
$60
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$170
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Colony Inn(Atascadero)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vino Inn & Suites(Atascadero)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Marriott Paso Robles(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Motel(Paso Robles)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
308
116
22
14
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
116
22
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelpaso roblesjetted tubseparate showerrooms are largecity hallwine barold world charmwine countrycentral coastcoffee shopbrew pubwonderful bakerysmall townlovely hotelold schoolhigh end
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 479 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Carlton Hotel is a great find in the Paso wine region and I would rate it 4.5 stars. The rooms and bathrooms are large and well-equipped. Great value for the money. It's the nicest place in town. My only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel...it's the town of Atascadero, which rolls up its sidewalks in the early evening. It would have been nice to have had some dining options in Atascadero. Instead we drove back to Paso for dinner. All in all, a nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a Juliette balcony which was quite nice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andieji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a treat to come to the Carlton Hotel for the second time. I LOVE THIS HOTEL! It is so charming with its beautifully designed, quiet, and well-equipped modern rooms, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is an historic old hotel that has been perfectly renovated. I especially love the beautiful, big bathrooms. The adjacent restaurant and the bakery are both outstanding as well. The Carlton is a wonderful bargain as you get a first-rate, 4 star hotel for the same price as a basic, bring-your-dog hotel chain. Check out their weekday prices that include a nice breakfast. You are minutes from all the wonderful wineries as well as Morro Bay and other cities on the Central Coast. Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side or one of the bigger corner rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIMNNANCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This review should have gotten 5 stars but I was disappointed with the non-complimentary Fiji water in the coffee service nook. The hotel sits on the main drag and is easy to get to off the 101. Abundant, free parking mostly in a lot across the street, but some behind the hotel itself. Several local eateries within walking distance. Nothing fancy really but good. Drive a couple of miles and very convenient, familiar stores like Vons and Walgreens within easy reach.

Nice lobby and staircase leading to the rooms. Very nice 2nd floor courtyard. Great place to eat takeout, but I saw an ashtray on one of the tables, so smoking might be permitted. Great service and well-appointed comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are luxurious with jet tub and separate showers. They have complimentary breakfast at the restaurant, which is closed on Mondays. ‘Complimentary’ means 1 free entrée. Any extra item, for instance the wicked good granola, will cost. I got a free $7 Belgium waffle, so I’m not complaining.

Speaking of ‘complimentary’, the two Fiji water bottles looked really good after a hard day driving around in a golf cart and hitting a shot or 95 in picture-perfect 70+ degree weather. The coffee service nook was dark and I didn’t notice the sign written in a stylish, cursive font stuck to the bottles warning that these puppies weren’t free. Not their words, but you get the gist. See attached photo. The almost translucent nature of the sign, the style of writing and the way the warning is attached right above the flower that is part of the Fiji logo makes it, in my opinion, rather unobvious. Is that on purpose? I don’t know, but I would hate to think so because it would be a cheap shot for an otherwise classy, upstanding, great-value-for-the-money establishment such as this. 2 nights at $285 total including taxes and fees. Would without hesitation absolutely come back—just would bring my own water!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been refurbished with nothing but the best! The linens and fixtures, as well as the furnishings are top notch. The restaurant and bar are excellent as well. We had a room that opened on the patio, a European flavor. There are a spa and a wine bar next door. Big city amenities in a small town.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texastraveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel is very well redone from the expansive lobby; to the showpiece staircase; to the comfortable guest rooms. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. All the second floor rooms open onto a huge patio area where we and some friends enjoyed a very good dinner meal served from their Colby Jack restaurant. Free Breakfast was excellent in selections, quality and service.
Considering their rates, we and our friends can't imagine staying anywhere else in this area.

Room Tip: There are some pet friendly rooms adjoining the patio and some grass behind the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews