We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Beautiful room, very convenient to all attractions and has an awesome restaurant and a coffee shop and bakery that we loved. Worth the money!!! No pool but a beautiful courtyard. Try the lemon poppy seed muffin in the morning!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furnman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanajalex, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for staying with us!! We look forward to seeing you again!!

Deana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    103
    15
    13
    18
See reviews for
75
193
27
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough....choose this hotel if you are staying in the area....or make it a destination. I picked it on a whim from a booking site....it was $30 less than the chain hotel. I expected run down...but I am blown away. Firstly, Travis at the front desk is wonderful...he truly seems happy to be greeting his guests. Let me start with the cons...the restaurant closed early (8:30) with no room service. But Travis easily solved my hunger problems! Pros: beautiful NY elegance in the hotel and restaurant/lounge. Room (217) is immaculate...antique feel but very clean. Really comfortable bed. Fridge, keurig coffees and fiji waters (both complimentary.). Real glassware including ine glasses and coffee mugs. 83 tv channels including Bravo and Fox Sports West (you won't get these at the "M" chain.) Big closets and clean carpeting. Room smelled clean and not musty like other historical lodging. Bathroom is enormous with separate bathtub/whirlpool and step in shower. Also separated toilet. Real fluffy, white towels! Robes are also provided for use. Hotel is quiet...and free parking and wifi. Fitness room is also nice. Town is very quaint. The hotel restaurant seems to be the nicest. There is also a wine bar nearby as well as a few little eating places. Avoid the two bar/saloons across the street...not a place for a single lady or even a couple. I am here on business, extended my stay to enjoy the hotel more...and would come back for a pleasure trip to enjoy the wineries. Ps...the hotel has an interior patio...pick up a bottle of wine, grab your glasses and enjoy the night sky!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzf3yy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Have stayed in the Carlton several times each time love it more it is a restored hotel with so much character and charm. Beautifully done every thing in this hotel is luxury, large spacious rooms wonderful bed and pillows, friendly staff priced less than the chain hotel in the area. A great place to visit the Paso Robles wine county. Colby Jacks restaurant is a interesting menu with excellent food. Have traveled all over the world and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've put on thousands of miles this year and this hotel, bar none, is the best we've encountered. From the quality restoration to the helpful front desk person (Katie) to the efficient and funny bartender, to the manager with whom we had a cocktail....it was a dream vacation. The history of the Carlton stands on its own. They focused on quality and used the best materials for the restoration with gold fixtures in the bath (jacuzzi!!) and solid doors and crown molding making the rooms more like the Plaza than a hotel in a small town on the coast in California. It's exactly 1/2 way between San Francisco and Los Angeles. Make it a 'must do' if you're traveling in either direction. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55ReenieAnne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I had booked a wine tour with a free pick up from Atascadero. There were a couple of other hotels in the area, but we decided to splurge and it was a good choice. The Carlton was easy to find (right off the highway), perfectly located (quiet downtown) and the service was super-friendly.

There were restaurants and other services in walking distance, but the restaurant and bakery inside the hotel pretty much had all we needed.

The exterior and lobby harken back to the early 20th century, but the interior and rooms have been upgraded to modern standards. Everything was very well taken care of and clean and all amenities were readily available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are probably more comfortable as they don't face a street and have no di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanoemRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I first stayed at The Carlton last May, very impressed.

Last week I again had the opportunity to stay at The Carlton. Once again, everything was perfect. Very helpful and friendly staff. Very comfortable room and amazingly comfortable bed. A great place to stay.

Also as before, the in-hotel restaurant, Brie Lauren Bistro, served several excellent meals.

Room Tip: I stayed in Rooms 312 and 325, both face the courtyard and seem to be quieter than street-facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durrwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

wonderful staff, beautiful hotel and comfortable beds... 5 stars.....

I was greated very polightly by Travis at the front desk. having missed happy hour I was directed to various other locations to grab some wine and appetizers. all was in walking distance which is always a plus. Upon returning had wine at the bar, a great crowd of people and great conversation. the best part was the bed, sooooo comfortable. Return customer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
9.5 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the Atascadero Arts District in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing