We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a perfect hotel for a relaxing get-away for a night or weekend. The attention to detail is amazing and evident throughout the property. The rooms are spacious; the bed is sooo comfy; and the bathrooms are opulent with an awesome jaccuzzi bathtub. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking for a place to relax where you can count on good service, a spotless room, and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    98
    15
    12
    17
See reviews for
68
180
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Excellent rooms/bathrooms. High end all around. No need to pay for upgraded rooms, as our least expensive room was exceptional. Only negatives are no free breakfast, no pool. In expensive Paso Robles area, can be a high-end bargain.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Quiet, comfy hotel with remodeled rooms in Atascadero. Very different than any other local hotel - in an historic building, with great amenities. I think it's too expensive on weekends, but would likely stay again mid-week since those seem to be reasonable prices.

Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Lights in the bathroom are way too dim, but it is large and nicely done. Separate shower and a jetted tub!

Restaurant downstairs is in the process of changing hands , so only beer and wine. We didn't eat here, but it was crowded on anSaturday night with large and small groups.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MGA57GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel was clean, quite and very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also, the rooms are very large. I would recommend paying extra for an interior facing room. I did. the room was very quite. You might be just as well off requesting an exterior room facing east. Highway 101 is 200 yards (approx.) away from the West side of the hotel. You might experience road noise.
I had breakfast at the hotel one morning. The food was very inexpensive but not particularly good.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra for an interior facing room or request an exterior room facing east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I won't repeat what the other reviewers had to say about this hotel. They do a super job. Rooms are big, and clean. Everything works. The staff is great. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Unbelievable find. This hotel easily compares to 4 Seasons. The rooms are absolutely 5 Star quality; heavy construction, no noise, robes, marble bathroom with juccuzzi tub, quality bedding and good bed. Some top of the line chains do not provide in-room coffee maker but this hotel does (for "first aid"), additionally they have FREE in-room Wi-Fi unlike some other properties. Street level has a Coffee Shop that has great Croissants and coffee (little under marketed) and the staff is very friendly in a sincere way. Location is great, its about 5 minutes to downtown Paso Robles.

Room Tip: Even the Street side (highway 101) rooms are quiet and we did not hear any noise from highway nor fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This property has retained its old time charm and also updated the amenities. Was spending a weekend in the Paso Robles wine country and found this great deal online. Quiet, spacious room, fully marbled bathroom. the beds were layered with blankets, down comforter and a bedspread. The staff was helpful, courteous. On a busy weekend, or weekday, the parking might be a bit tight. The restaurant wasn't open in the evening, there is a very limited of quality restaurants to select from locally, unfortunately. Did try breakfast, and was a great selection for a very reasonable price ($6.95). Highly recommend this choice property for its price, convenience and decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-4210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique, one-of-a-kind hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo County- sandy beaches, wine country and the historic downtown are all just a short drive (or stroll) away. We boast a locally sourced, artisanal Bakery & Cafe that is open daily. We are also ow a member of STASH Hotel rewards- a one-of-a-kind rewards program for one-of-a-kind hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing