We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty "Black & Bleu" burger before CIF Semi-finals!”

Sylvester's Burgers
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Westchester (LA), CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tasty "Black & Bleu" burger before CIF Semi-finals!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stopped here after reading reviews on TA and it was easy to locate and park across the street. The menu had several "gourmet" style burgers in two weights. I chose the 1/2 lb. black & bleu burger with bleu cheese crumbles and a side of fries. The burger was cooked just right and the bleu cheese was tangy, it had some other spices on it which gave it a "smoky" flavor and there was fresh lettuce and tomato. I didn't have to wait long before it was delivered to the table and the servers checked with me at least 3 more times to see if I needed anything. It was a nice meal to enjoy before watching the West Torrance vs. Atascadero CIF playoff game, and I would come back if I happen to be in Atascadero near dinnertime! Next time I might get a different side, as the fries were ok but nothing to brag about.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank socaltravelmom_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Los Osos burger joint”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Locals and tourists love this place with the sloppy burgers. Regulars vy to win the burger eating contest. Good old fashioned burgers along with more custom burger fare. Great fries and onion rings as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bloren3433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My favorite burgers”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Burgers aren't the only thing on their menu, but theirs are the best i have ever had. Their sauce is similar to In-n-Out but better (IMO) - order it on the side since they do slap a LOT on the burgers. My favorite is the Hearst Ranch Grass Fed beef burger - you can taste in the meat that these cattle grazed on some of the biggest, lushest pastures in California. Their regular-sized burgers are enough to be filling but not heavy, but they do have some extra-large ones if you're hungry enough to try one. The tri-tip and Philly sandwiches are excellent, too. Their milk shakes are HUGE and delicious. I found this place by accident two years ago and have been a regular ever since. I have never been disappointed here.

They do tend to stay busy, and it's a small building, so it's sometimes crowded and noisy with a little bit of wait on the food (worth it, though). The atmosphere is fun and casual, good for kids and kids-at-heart (with funny hats to wear for your birthday photos and fun coloring sheets). If the weather is nice and you don't want to watch their wide-screen TVs (usually a sports program), they have a big covered outdoor patio, and the sunken garden park is right across the quiet street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fjorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Burgers”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We eat there at least twice a month. Large choice of burgers in either 1/3 or 1/2 pound sizes. Like mentioned before, ask for sauce on the side. I then put a little sauce on the burger and use the rest for dipping my fries into. Another tip, the pastrami sandwich is also awesome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whitewing94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Burgers!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped by this gem on the way down the 101. This spot is definitely worth getting off the freeway for. Whether you choose a basic burger or one of their unique styles, you're going to get a tasty and juicy treat. We sat outside with our dog on a beautiful day. If you prefer a healthy alternative they have turkey burgers that they will make in any style you choose. Go there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walterandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvester's Burgers also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sylvester's Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing