We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok sushi bad service.”
Review of Kai Lana Sushi

Kai Lana Sushi
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Atascadero
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok sushi bad service.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The food is ok, comparative to many other sushi places but the biggest issue we had was a lack of service. Our waters were empty we wanted something else and we just waited and waited and waited they weren't that busy and supposedly have this paging system but nobody responded. Better off driving 5 minutes south to Crazy Sushi Fever.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makena805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ambience, value and taste!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Kai-Lana has an eclectic vibe with the clientele as interesting as the waiters and plates. The service and presentation equals that of more expensive restaurants. My guests have loved the sushi and sashimi and I, who do not eat raw food, remain consistently delighted with the salmon, pork, chicken etc. We eat lunch there regularly from a value priced, broad-based menu. I plan on dinner there soon for a special occasion as the menu, while more expensive, looks good.

A newish place usually feels good to eat in; I hope these owners maintain the standards they started with - not easy to keep a restaurant this busy and open every day of the week sparkling clean, staff positive and the atmosphere fun. Please try, because we locals love this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great sushi; my children and I loved the food. The staff was friendly and it has great ambiance. Convenient to our hotel and the area wineries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marierm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“lunch is awesome and price is affordable”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

For $11.90. I got 6 pcs of salmon sashimi, beef teriyaki, 4 pcs of spicy tuna roll, miso soup, rice and salad. For this price, I get to try 3 dishes which I think is really great price for japanese food. Great service and food presentation is creative! It maybe just lunch for people but the chef here take pride of the food he's representing. The spiciness of my tuna roll is perfect for my palate, definitely has a little kick ...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pixel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I am a big fan of this sushi restaurant, I have always liked eating here even with the changes in owners. We consistently have a great meal and the wait staff is always very friendly. I have been here by myself and with large groups and have always found the food to be fresh, well made/prepared and never any annoyed staff.

The $$$ is not over-priced and the specials are great deals.

We usually order the Alaskan roll and sashimi - both amazing if you love salmon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Lana Sushi also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Kai Lana Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing