We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inconsistant food and service, Sunday breakfast good ... mid-week lunch poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest House Grill

Guest House Grill
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“inconsistant food and service, Sunday breakfast good ... mid-week lunch poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Had Sunday breakfast there my first visit a while back, it was good, with a friendly server, although atmosphere is very dark inside. Returned to try lunch on 9/6/2011, and was not impressed. It was a nice day and their outside seating was one of the reasons we decided on lunch there. So, when the hostess started seating us inside where it was dark on a beautiful day (without giving us an option) we asked if we could eat outside, she seemed unahappy with our request and stated it was hot out. When we were served drinking water, it was cloudy and wierd particles of some undetermined substance settled at the bottom of the glass. When we politely pointed it out to our server, she said it was from the lemon slice ... trust me, that's not what it was, I've been served plenty of water w/ lemon and it didn't not have this type of setement - she didn't offer a sollution of any kind. When we asked for menu recommendations and then paused before making our selection, she impatiently stated she'd be back. We were considering getting up and leaving, but unfortunately stuck it out. The food was awful ... a portabella sandwich with so much gooey sauch that we could not taste the portabella, of which was very small, and very salty. When she asked if I was done so she could clear my plate, she seriously commented she wanted to make sure I was done so I wouldn't bite her hand off, this was a strange comment since despite the poor service, dirty water, and so-so yet pricey food, we had been friendly and polite. There was also a split plate fee, so a so-so sandwich that we shared, no drinks, no sides, etc., our bill was $16 without a tip. Very disappointed with the food and service, doubtful that' we'll ever return even though our Sunday breakfast previously had been good ... wouldn't want to risk another experience like our lunch! There are much better places to eat nearby.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    64
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

An intimate little restaurant on the South side of Atascadero. The service is charming and the ambiance is wonderful. Their Chicken Pesto Sandwich is to die for along with their sweet potato fries. The steak is alway cooked well and the lobster was actually quit good! Always a pleasure to dine there!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CamilleZinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...even the kids enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

A great little restaurant with good food, good beer, great service, and great music. What more can you ask for? It was the best experience on a cool August evening on the patio with a cold beer, great ribs and steak, and some live music which made our dinner a truly fun, relaxing experience. Even the kids gave top ratings to this restaurant.
We went on a Friday night and they had live music (soft rock, folkish music) from 7pm.
You have to go here if you're even remotely in the area.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sylk1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We are german tourists travelling through the western USA and this restaurant is our favorite! We tried the ribs and the ribeye steak and it was very delicious and we recommend it! It is hard to find (near a Mall at the Main Street) but it is worth it! You will have a nice dinner with very courteous waitresses and - i forgot - a very good lemonade. :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Atascadero, a real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We have been going to Guest House since it opened. It is owned by a couple of guys who are Cal Poly SLO graduates I believe. They go out of their way to make sure the restaurant is beautiful, and the food and service are top notch.

They have a large outdoor patio as well as the indoor seating. Indoor has cozy booths and also tables with chairs. There is also a bar that seats about 8 people and they serve beer and wine.

They have specials some nights of the week, which are very good, except the spaghetti special which I didn't like, but for an inexpensive meal, it was ok. Everything else is excellent. Their ranch salad dressing is a favorite, really great flavor and the salads are excellent, garden, ceasar, etc. They start you at dinner with a plate of sour dough like bread with an olive tapenade that is heavenly.

I like to eat vegetarian sometimes and they do serve a great garden burger, and they also have a vege. sandwich on a chabatta roll. They have sweet potatoe fries or regular. At dinner they have garlic mashed potatoes that need more garlic in my opinion but they are very good. They also have rice I think. I usually get some kind of potatoes. Their steaks are really good, and their Guest House Burger is Angus beef.

Honestly my whole family of 4, son 14, daughter 23, husband 56, we all look forward to going to dine at Guest House as much as possible. You will love it. If something is not done the way you like it, just tell them and they will make it right for you. The servers are also very good and you won't be ignored. They have good deserts too.

Love it!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTHERLOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guest House Grill also viewed

Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Guest House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing