We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you value cleanliness/staff/breakfast, stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you value cleanliness/staff/breakfast, stay here”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Big Pluses:
- Extremely polite and well-trained staff
- Decent-tasting complimentary breakfast includes hot foods (eggs, bacon, cinnamon rolls).
- Hotel and rooms still 'like-new'

Good value, but for the same price you can probably stay in a location where there are actually things worth walking to (downtown SLO, wine country). But if you don't mind the short drives to those places, you can't beat the cleanliness and service found here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deacon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    92
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
106
102
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I just recently visited this hotel, and it was an extremely enjoyable and lively experience. The other guests were a pleasure to be around, and the staff know their stuff too! I have been to far more upscale establishments, as far as a rating would go on the level of service provided, but I have to tell you that these people here have hit the nail on the head! They will look you in the eye everytime you walk through the lobby, and they will smile and greet you everytime as well. If you need any help whatsoever these people here at this hotel will take care of it. Even if that means putting extra energy and effort into it! They truly are awesome over there in that tiny town of Atascadero at The Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Its a breath of fresh air in this day in age when customer service has become so deteriorated in the work place. I tell you what! Head on over to this well run and elegant hotel if you want that "WOW" experience. I know eveyone is always claiming to offer that experience, but this place is a paragon for excellence in that category for sure! Good hunting...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I had to travel to Atascadero for a family wedding and did my research regarding available rooms and rates. At first I bypassed the HI Express because I didn't think it would offer the amenity level that I experienced as business traveler and Priority Club member who frequents Crowne Plaza properties. I happened upon a tripadvisor review and discovered that the property is nearly brand new with upgraded rooms for this market segment, so I thought I would give it a try.

Upon arrival and throughout my stay, Reynessa Reyes at the front desk was nothing short of personable, knowledgeable and truly the epitome of hospitality. She even helped me try to repair a tie for the wedding! The room was can only be described as equal to or superior to a lot of the "heavenly bed" properties that I have stayed at over the years (google "heavenly bed" for the chain's name).

The pool and hot tub appeared to be heated, the breakfast and attendant were wonderful, they offered wine tasting from a local vineyard and I even spotted cookies in the lobby during the evenings. This was a great experience. HI Express has a new and loyal customer. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here during a trip from Bay Area home to Southern California beaches. We wanted to stay at a near by winery town, but the hotel in that town was full. So we picked this hotel in Atascadero instead. Very clean, nice stuff, brand new! That day we were staying happened to be the 1 year anniversary of the hotel and they even had a party including the guests. They opened wine, lots of foods, and even a cake! The owner and the manager were going around to speak with the guests and that was really nice. They should be proud of themselves. Hope they don't change the management, etc. If anyone ever happened to stay over in Atascadero, this is the hotel to stay.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nimbus2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We spent the night here this past weekend after we couldn't find a room in San Luis Obispo - so glad we did!! We got a mini suite (two queen beds with a sofa bed) for 5 adults (Sister, Niece, Grandma, Me and my Son) for a great price. As mentioned in previous reviews the room was large, really clean, looked and smelled brand new. Beds were comfortable and the towels were generous. The room had a hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board as well as a flat screen that could be tilted toward the majority of the audience. Over all our room was very quiet. It was facing the front of the building (and the 101 Freeway), but we didn't hear any noise other than the doors in the hallway (fortunately only our hallway!) being closed. We arrived on Saturday evening withought a reservation and all the staff, from the front desk, to the housekeepers to the ladies stocking the breakfast were extremely helpful, pleasant and eager to please. The hotel is convenient to the wineries, San Luis Obispi, and the coast towns of Morro Bay and Cambria. We whole heartedly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Traveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We overnighted here and our stay was great. On a discounted points stay - we were upgraded to a bigger room whih was fantastic. Very well set-out and an extremely comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwrotethis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Many, many things about this hotel was great and I was not able to take advantage of all the amenities. Room was clean, neat and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was better than other hotels.

What was not so good was minor. First our reservation was not correct but the desk staff made the appropriate corrections, right away. I also thought the pool access was different. The closest door to the pool would let you go from the hotel to the pool but not back into the hotel from the pool, even with a room card key. You had to go to either side of the hotel add use your card key on the side door or all the way to the front entrance.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49ers_Gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#2 of 7 in Atascadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Colony Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Black Oak
Best Western Plus Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Address: 9010 W Front Rd, Atascadero, CA 93422-5403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero Enjoy a comfortable stay at the newly-built Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero. The hotel is located just 20 miles from the San Luis Obispo Airport and ten miles from the California coastal beaches. Your family is sure to enjoy lodging in Atascadero, California where our central coast hotel provides convenient access to several nearby attractions including over 300 wineries, Charles Paddock Zoo, Vina Robles Amphitheater, Atascadero Lake Park and Cal Poly State University. Other sights and activities include beautiful hiking trails at Morro Bay State Park, the ancient Morro Rock located along the California shoreline, which is one of the most photographed places in California and world-famous Hearst Castle. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy all the comforts of home and office at this hotel in Atascadero, California. Enjoy our evening guests receptions featuring local beer, wine and gourmet cheese each Monday - Thursday. Relax in our heated outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, break a sweat in the Fitness Center or stay connected with our complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and Business Center which is complete with copying and faxing services. Our Central Coast hotel also offers the delicious, complimentary Express Start full hot breakfast bar every morning, which features our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Start planning your California vacation or business trip now at our Atascadero hotel with boutique flare and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Atascadero
Holiday Inn Express Atascadero
Holiday Inn Atascadero
Atascadero Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing