We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay. Great staff and nice rooms and services.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay. Great staff and nice rooms and services.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay between LA and San Francisco. The staff is great and they are very helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean and offered a great place to spend the night. The location is convenient but not noisy. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    91
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
106
102
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really loved staying here! I found myself wondering why we spend so much more usually to stay in upscale hotels.

The front desk staff was outstandingly helpful. For instance, they provided a typed list of recommended restaurants from the staff that they clearly took tremendous pride in putting together. The free breakfast was very good -- fruit, hot eggs, hard boiled eggs, pancakes (they were gross), yogurt, cereal, cinnamin rolls. They also had a very large fridge in the room & a microwave in the dining area, so we were able to save restaurant left overs & eat them as a family the next night. The pool was great. They gave us an end room with our baby, and the room was very large. The bathroom was respectably nice. They even have free baked fresh warm cookies in the afternoon.

The only downsides we experienced were
1. No closet -- there's a indented area to hang your clothes, but no closet with a door. This is useful to us, as we put the pack-n-play in there so we can stay up later. But instead we put the pack n play in the bathroom then used the shared bathroom in the hallway.
2. We stayed on the first floor facing the road. My husband heard road noise at night. I didn't. So you may want to ask for a room facing the back if this is of concern.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Q_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We made a stopover here on the way to San Francisco. A bit hard to find, but with a navigation system we located the hotel. Very nice young lady at reception directed us to town and the local supermarket. The room was clean, well equipped and everything worked. The bathroom was especially large which was a benefit. The free breakfast was OK, not a lot of options but enough. The lobby and grounds are kept clean and there is plenty of parking. Best thing about the hotel was the easy drive to Morro Bay to view the sunset.

Recommended as a nice stopover on the way to somewhere else, as Atascadero is not exactly a hot spot :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was just what we were looking for when we made reservations to visit the Hearst Castle before heading out to Yosemite. It is nearly brand new, very clean and fresh. The value for the amount we paid was unbeatable. Upon our arrival, we also were greeted by Rachel who was ever so pleasant and helpful. Breakfast allowed a large variety of items, complete with eggs and bacon or sausage. Sheli made sure we had everything we needed each morning. When we checked out, we made sure we told the manager, Stephanie, how much we enjoyed our stay and that the hospitality we received was appreciated. We are now members of their Priority Club which allows a free night after a number of points have been banked. Before I left Holiday Inn Express there in Atascadero, I made it a point of mentioning to the managers that I wanted to boast about our stay on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: We just always ask for a room away from the road noise, if any, and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

It is the fate of many of us to travel for a living, hence we hate traveling for anything other than business as we know all the pitfalls and nightmares so we expect the worst. That being said my experience at this Holiday Inn was without a doubt one for the record books. It started with a young lady named Rachael who was pleasant, helpful and efficient while booking a room for us as I was driving down the highway toward this location at the last minute. She checked us in with extreme style and warmth, we had a great room, comfortable beds, all the right amenities and for a change, a very clean and comfortable room! The checkout staff was friendly, the breakfast supplied had a good variety and was tasty, and they even had both soft and firm pillows on the bed! By far the nicest Holiday Inn Express that I have ever stayed in and actually nicer than a 5 star hotel that I just paid 5 times the amount in London for an out of the way location with rude staff.

I was very impressed and have saved this one in my personal record and will be visiting again. Without a single thought it has replaced the hotel I have been using in that area for years and I will not be looking back! From a world traveler who has been in every style and type of hotel, they have a top rating from me all starting with one young lady named Rachael who actually understood the meaning of the words "customer service". Great Experience!

Room Tip: Go for the third floor, facing the back of the hotel, very quiet as it is the opposite side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for 4 nites while visiting Atascadero last week. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfasts were adequate and tasty. A clean quiet room with comfortable beds. A good value and everything you would expect for a satisfactory experience. I'll be back.....

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room and you shall receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWWhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We switched to the Holiday Inn Express because Motel 6 would not honor a reservation made thru booking.com. The Holiday Inn is new and lovely, with lots of good features. The room was spacious, with a comfortable king bed, an easy chair, a good desk for using a computer, and lots of horizontal surfaces for suitcases. The bathroom was large and clean, with lots of amenities like shampoo, soap, conditioner, hair dryer, and large fluffy towels. The tub had one of the best shower heads I've ever used. The hotel includes a pool and spa and a fitness room which we did not use. Breakfast was included, basically enhanced continental, but also with eggs and sausage patties, good coffee, flavored creamers, tea, juices, rolls and breads. Front desk staff were friendly and offered many suggestions for things to see in the area.

There were few negatives. The hotel was pricey for us--we were trying for a $69 Motel 6 but they wouldn't honor our reservation, so this was a second choice. It was hard to adjust the A/C and fan. The wi-fi changed passwords without notice. We asked for a quiet room but kids in nearby rooms kicked up noise until 10 pm and again around 8-9 in the morning. But aside from the unexpected expense ($212 instead of $69), we had a very pleasant stay and two great nights' sleep.

We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room--that MAY help, or may not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveK619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
1.8 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#2 of 7 in Atascadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
12.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
Address: 9010 W Front Rd, Atascadero, CA 93422-5403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero Enjoy a comfortable stay at the newly-built Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero. The hotel is located just 20 miles from the San Luis Obispo Airport and ten miles from the California coastal beaches. Your family is sure to enjoy lodging in Atascadero, California where our central coast hotel provides convenient access to several nearby attractions including over 300 wineries, Charles Paddock Zoo, Vina Robles Amphitheater, Atascadero Lake Park and Cal Poly State University. Other sights and activities include beautiful hiking trails at Morro Bay State Park, the ancient Morro Rock located along the California shoreline, which is one of the most photographed places in California and world-famous Hearst Castle. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy all the comforts of home and office at this hotel in Atascadero, California. Enjoy our evening guests receptions featuring local beer, wine and gourmet cheese each Monday - Thursday. Relax in our heated outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, break a sweat in the Fitness Center or stay connected with our complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and Business Center which is complete with copying and faxing services. Our Central Coast hotel also offers the delicious, complimentary Express Start full hot breakfast bar every morning, which features our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Start planning your California vacation or business trip now at our Atascadero hotel with boutique flare and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Atascadero
Holiday Inn Express Atascadero
Holiday Inn Atascadero
Atascadero Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing