We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Girls Restaurant - CLOSED

Girls Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The food here was good and the portions were large. Nothing jumped out to us as out of the ordinary. The service was excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

just like home cooking. Reasonable prices and huge servings. Customers are friendly. Wonderful

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyforever7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A trip down memory lane. Not worh the effort.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Girls Restaurant is another diner-like business in the Five Cities area. They seem to always be busy. Not sure why.

It took several months of driving by before we decided to try this place for breakfast. It's a old, tired, diner and shows its age on the outside and inside.

On this particular visit, it was busy. When we were greeted, we were quickly taken to a a table in a back room. The decor was deplorable. Old, worn carpet, dark, pictures from an old Wollworths (or Granny's basement).

The menu was similar to the other diner just down the street, but we noticed the pricing was higher (about $1 to $2 higher for comparable meals).

Service was slow, very slow. We ordered two different omlettes and a pancake meal. We asked for a couple little extras on the side (diced tomato in a bowl). we were told that all extras had additinal cost (the diner down the street doesn't charge for the same extras). Once we ordered, it took about 15 minutes for the food to arrive. At least it was hot.

Portion size was average. Taste was average. When we asked to make the smallest of changes to our order, were were met with resistance and cost adders (the server noted it was the owner's policy).

If you are looking for a trip down memory lane and enjoy eating average food in an old, run down building, the Girls Restaurant is your place. But for my money, there is another diner just down the street and a nice little cafe in The Village that offer better food, a nicer environment and lower prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barisarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good, old fashioned comfort food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Staff is friendly. Portions are plentiful. The overall quality of food is very good. We have breakfast here several times a year when visiting the area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank happywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disgusting.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

A frozen dinner from the grocery store would be more appetizing. Their food tastes like they just microwaved it. Absolutely the WORST restaurant I've ever eaten at...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blondie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girls Restaurant also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing