We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ice cream”

Doc Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab - Arroyo Grande
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Arroyo Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: Nostalgic ice cream parlor with super-premium ice creams made on-site daily. Model train circles the parlor.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Made on premises, the ice cream is made in small amounts so its always fresh and sweet. The ingriedents are plentful....the prices are good

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hallma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    47
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Icecream”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are looking for good quality Ice cream, this is the place to go! Pretty decent selection and they even have a make your own ice cream for kids a few times a month!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocBurnstein, Owner at Doc Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab - Arroyo Grande, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive review you gave us on Trip Advisor. Giving you an extraordinary ice cream experience is our goal, and your feedback is important to us. We hope to see you again soon.

Greg Steinberger, Founder
Doc Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab
Arroyo Grande, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Charming Ice Cream Parlor”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Doc Burnstein's makes great ice cream and offers a delightful respite from the heat. A few of the original architectural details can be spotted inside this shop, which is part of Arroyo Grande's original turn-of-the-century village.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Can't miss out on this ice cream!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for ice cream based on review in a tour book about the area. we were driving down the PCH, and had spent the night in Pismo Beach. We made a detour to Arroyo Grande before heading to Santa Barbara, and I am so glad we did! This town has charm, and this ice cream parlour was amazing. My husband had caramel explosion which he said was very good. I was a bit more adventurous and had the merlot raspberry truffle. If only I could have taken some home with me! It was the most delicious ice cream flavour ever! I have got to figure out a way to return to this area just so I can get a different treat!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrLeslieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Save Some Room After Klondike Pizza!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

DOC Burnstein's is a fun little ice cream shop. They have really original ice cream flavors (motor oil!). Motor oil was actually pretty good! Their "special" flavors change, but they still have your basic ice cream flavors. They have a train running through the store that is fascinating to the kiddos. They also have "lab hours," where you can see them "creating" their ice cream. Most of the times we've been there, Cars is playing on the television. It was funny to look around and see that the room full of people (children and adults) were all attentively watching Cars!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Momofgrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab - Arroyo Grande also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Doc Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab - Arroyo Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing