We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - Would definitely stay again”
Review of Aloha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloha Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Reviewed August 3, 2010

After reading some of the other reviews, I was very hesitant about our stay. My husband and I checked in with an open mind and a kind of "glass half full" attitude and were greatly rewarded! What more could you ask for of a room for under $60. The room was very clean and staff were very helpful. There were no aparent issues others found fault with. I would suggest you take your own pillow if you are picky about your pillows/sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

I always try to find the good in everything and while this place has some positive things...like location, price, pool....the negatives out weigh them by far. I arrived early 11:30am and they checked me in with no problem...so I appreciated that. So off I went up to Room 210. When I walked in the Room smelled like smoke....no big deal...I have close family that smokes and I am use to it. I hooked up my laptop and the wireless internet works great...infact...I am writing this review from my room at the Aloha Inn. As I sit at the Table I notice there is a gap between the fram and door...so you can basically see right through which of course bugs can crawl into the room. (See Picture) Then I noticed the coffee maker with the complimentary coffee.......if you drink it black because there are no cream and sugars provided. I guess the worst part was the shower. There was black mold around the the bottom of the shower (see picture). This is definetly a health hazzard. People get very ill from black mold. Overall, I will not stay here again...yea the price was right at around $70, but I would rather pay a little more to ensure a clean and safe place. Just up the road is a Holiday Inn and Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveGoodWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

When a weekend rate on the Central Coast is usually over $200, I returned back to San Luis Obispo county to visit the fam, and was able to get a rate of $74 for Friday night, which is phenomenal. I was expecting the worst, but was surprised. A clean, king room with a sliding-door and deck, right next to the 101, yet not terribly noisy. A pool, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coopschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I was really disappointed by this motel. On the plus side, the location was convenient for lots of activities. However, it's all downhill from there. For the money, I found the room really shabby and unappealing. Large stain on the carpet, carpet frayed at doorways, shower curtain old and stained. This is a worn out unimproved property, not worth $150 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukulelemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Our group of four showed up at midnight on a holiday weekend and they got us a clean room at a great price and they were very friendly. They also had a complimentary continental breakfast- coffee, juice, pastries and cereal. I was SUPER impressed for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank number1TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Arrived at this motel with low expectations although unlike the above visitor we were charged $89.00 with a AAA discount. As reported, the place was a dump and still continues to be a dump but worse was the attitude of management. We were given a room on the second floor and we said we would have difficulty bringing up our luggage the steep steps as my husband is 76 years old and I am 70. We were told that they couldn't help us and we should have asked for a first floor room when we made our reservations. I asked for our money back.
You always get what you pay for room wise but kind service is priceless.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank babashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I don’t understand why there are so many bad reviews! I used to live in the area and recently returned to visit. This hotel was previously an Econo Lodge and pretty much a dump, but I was strapped for cash so I was going to stay anyways. But I was SO pleasantly surprised when I saw how great the facility was looking now. Everything was new and clean and to be honest I didn’t think I could afford it. But 50 bucks was all I had to pay for a big room with a king size bed. I was so happy! Motel 6 doesn’t even have prices that low. This is a great deal! I would definitely recommend it and to be honest I can’t wait to go back. Totally would recommend it to someone and have.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBF4684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
1.2 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,077 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
3 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#16 of 29 in Pismo Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#5 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachway Inn
Beachway Inn
#4 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
21 reviews
2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Inn

Address: 611 El Camino Real, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-2649 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range: $66 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aloha Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Aloha Inn are invited to enjoy many amenities, including a complimentary continental breakfast, free local calls and in-room coffee. Relax and enjoy the warm summer sun and cool ocean breezes by our seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and access to fax services.The Aloha Inn features comfortably furnished, spacious guest rooms equipped with patios or balconies, refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. In addition to standard rooms, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available.From the friendly customer service to the tranquil accommodations, you’re reminded in every detail that the essence of aloha lives here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Arroyo Grande
Aloha Motel Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing