We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloha Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Bellingham, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
Reviewed December 2, 2008

This was our second worst hotel experience ever. The first warning sign was when their records showed that we were checking out a day earlier than we had requested. I'm not sure how that gets screwed up on an internet booking system but, luckily, it was an easy fix. Though the rooms were clean the exterior is looking run down. Spare toilets stored in the open under the stairway. Stacks of undelivered phone books also under another stairway (no phone books available in the rooms). The continental breakfast is a joke - bad coffee, stale danishes and some cereal.

On our second night we returned after a full day with the family. Our room had been serviced but my wife discovered (after her shower) that they had neglected our fresh towels. I called the front desk to have some delivered. I was told they were all in the dryer and they would bring them in a half-hour. Never received them. I had to get them from the front desk the next morning. As I approached the desk I could see the note taken from the previous evening - "room 215 needs towels".

On our last night I was awoken at 12 midnight. The alarm clock in the next room was going off. I called the front desk. No answer. I tried to cover my head with a pillow. No good. After calling the desk for 30 minutes I finally got someone to answer the phone. I explained the situation and asked that someone come out and turn off the alarm. The response was "Now?!" Yes, now. I'm trying to sleep. He agreed to attend to the problem. After a half hour with no action being taken I called the front desk again. I let the phone ring for a full minute. Someone picked up and immediately hung up. Called again. Someone picked up again. This time I got him to respond. He actually lied to me, telling me that he came out to fix the problem but there was no alarm going off all while I can still hear the alarm buzzing through my head.

This time I told him I would meet him outside my door. The alarm could be heard from the far end of the corridor. He entered the room and turned off the alarm. Thank God. I returned to bed dreading my early morning flight.15 minutes later I was almost asleep when the alarm went off again. He had his the Snooze Button!!!

Unbelievable.

  • Liked — Nice big stand up shower.
  • Disliked — Staffing and service.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bensontc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    84
    37
    15
    17
See reviews for
77
74
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Overall our 2 night stay was about what we expected. This property appears to have been recently purchased from the Econolodge chain. Although there are improvements being made to the rooms I would rank the rooms as 2 star.

The living area is fine; the concerning part is the bathroom. There is mold on the shower curtain and the ceiling in room 115. You can hear the freeway but the freeway was not an issue of us.

There is a refridgerator in the room and the television is good with lots of channels. There was a cigarette burn on the coffee table.

Beds okay, pillows did not give much support.

The rate charged was $20 less than quoted on the phone.

Overall our visit was okay. If you set a high bar for this property you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrCage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The people who run the place do not speak good English and they staff the front desk with unqualified personnel. Two or three of them stand around watching as they process my credit card. The room carpet was worn and filthy. The bed itself was clean, that's about all I can say for it. I'm not sure that the people who say the complex is clean were at the same motel as the workmanship is clearly a disaster. Bathroom had uneven floors and the "shower" was clearly installed by a do-it-yourselfer. Choice Hotels clearly has no standards or they wouldn't have their name on this dump -- I expect to pay less and get fewer amenties and such a national chain, what I got was filth.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — staff, dirty rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arroyo Grande hotels

Newark, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed there for one night to meet up with in-laws at Pismo Beach Area, coming back from Disneyland for a couple of nights on our way back to the Bay Area. We just spent a lot of money in Anaheim so we were on a budget and this hotel was the cheapest we found at the last minute on Labor Day weekend.

We had room #221 and the balcony faced the nosey freeway so we couldn't have it open when trying to watch TV. Of course it's an older motel so I didn't expect much. I never really expect much from an Econo Lodge or any of these older hotels. Some people expect the Bellagio or something. Our room was on the bigger side. We couldn't hear any of our neighbors in our room. We had a fridge and a microwave.

But a few things I didn't like. Spider webs on the ceilings and ants crawling around the bathroom at night. I think I saw a Hostess ding dong wrapper under my bed. And also the toilet stop flushing so I had to take out the lid and mess around the flushing device.

The pool was nice and clean. The lobby was clean and had continental breakfast. Check-in and check-out was a breeze.
I would only stay here again if there was nothing else available in the Pismo area.

  • Liked — Microwave and Fridge
  • Disliked — Spiderwebs, Ants and Toilet stop flushing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend, won't be back. Where to begin?

The location is pretty bad, right off a busy freeway (101). Would not be an issue except the walls are paper thin so we could hear traffic plus our neighbor's TV, and of course the motorcycles revving up in the lot. Checkin was fine, we got a second floor room which had no tub but instead a cheapo shower with cheapo white towels that wouldn't even meet WalMart standards. The room was average size with an old 19" color TV, but the furniture, carpet and bed have seen better days. The sheets weren't fit for my dog's bed. The only reason it gets 2* is for the in-room refrig, microwave and free highspeed wireless internet. The free conti. breakfast includes watered down coffee, danish, juice and cereal.

Did we mention the low budget clientele and the snarling dog across the street? Flimsy locks/doors = potential safety issues.

All in all this is the worst property I have visited in the past 20 years excluding a motel 6 that had roaches. We stayed here because it was cheap - the only chain property <$100/night - but be forewarned - you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet, cable TV, refrig
  • Disliked — noise, threadbare sheets and towels
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Normally when visiting the area, we like to stay at places like Apple Farm but this was a spur-of-the-moment weekend and only two locations had any vacancies. I picked Econo over the other one. I wasn't sure what to expect.
The Good: Overall pleasantly surprised. Very clean building complex and our room was likewise. Nothing fancy but comfortable with cable TV, refrig, microwave.
The Not So Good:
a) Our room faced the freeway (second floor) so the noise was a bit much (could not leave open and listen to TV). Still able to sleep o.k. with slider shut.
b) Shower head height was made for someone about 5 ft or under. Not sure why. Worked fine with a little contortionist act.
Note, If it wasn't so clean, I'd give it a two and a half.
Minor: Limited continental breakfast. Only cold cereal and some baked items, no fruit, etc. We usually go have a nice breakfast anyways.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRitt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Our stay was pleasant. My boyfriend and I went for a weekend getaway and we booked last minute. For the price we paid it was worth it. Our room was clean and it had a view of the pool. You could hear the freeway, but it did not bother us. The room was clean and more spacious than expected...had a mini fridge, microwave and a shower with good water pressure. We'd stay again.

  • Liked — Great place to rest and recoup. Never underestimate the power of a good shower
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank weekend_tripperLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
2.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Inn

Property: Aloha Inn
Address: 611 El Camino Real, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-2649 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aloha Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Aloha Inn are invited to enjoy many amenities, including a complimentary continental breakfast, free local calls and in-room coffee. Relax and enjoy the warm summer sun and cool ocean breezes by our seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and access to fax services.The Aloha Inn features comfortably furnished, spacious guest rooms equipped with patios or balconies, refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. In addition to standard rooms, handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available.From the friendly customer service to the tranquil accommodations, you’re reminded in every detail that the essence of aloha lives here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Hotel Arroyo Grande
Aloha Motel Arroyo Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing